Main Line Kitchen Design
Call us at 610-500-4071

Posted March 1, 2017 by pmcalary

slide3

Main Line Kitchen ranks the best selling cabinets in the US

All the designers that gave us input on the cabinet lines below have greater than 20 years experience in our industry. When possible all construction specifics were double checked on the web sites for each cabinet line.

722-Argyle-Ave

Main Line kitchen design acknowledges that we are dealers for the following cabinet lines: Wellsford, Bishop, Brighton, Fabuwood, 6 Square, and CNC.  We could be prejudiced towards ranking these lines more favorably, but we have tried to be impartial. However, since the cabinet lines we carry were chosen specifically for their construction quality and value, our ranking them well should not be a surprise. 

home

Below is our comprehensive list of the top selling cabinet manufacturers in the United States and how they rank for construction quality and  for value considering the price point of each cabinet line. Price point is rated from 1 to 6 with 6 being the most expensive cabinetry on the market.

.

We rate cabinetry assuming each line is upgraded to the top level of construction available. A grade of A for construction quality will not be equal across different price levels, as the more expensive price point cabinets will have far nicer finishes and construction options.

.

The value grade we give is not a rating about the quality of the cabinetry but a rating of how good an investment a cabinet line is considering it’s cost. For example, many of the most expensive well made cabinet lines receive lover marks on value even though as designers we think the cabinetry is the best in it’s class. These lines receive lower grades on value simply because there are competitors offering the same quality at slightly lower prices.

.

Note: The highest grade for Quality in any frameless European style cabinet line is a B. While frameless cabinetry is easier to access and is sleeker looking, it is also less durable than the best made framed cabinetry.

.

FOR PEOPLE OUTSIDE OUR SERVICE AREA OF WITHIN A TWO HOUR DRIVE OF OUR BALA CYNWYD PENNSYLVANIA OFFICE, BELOW IS A LINK TO RECOMMENDED DEALERS IN OTHER AREAS. GOOD DEALERS CLOSE TO YOU CAN BETTER ANSWER QUESTIONS ABOUT WHAT’S AVAILABLE IN YOUR AREA:

https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/recommended-kitchen-designers-cabinet-dealers-outside-service-area/

.

Cabinet line                   Price level 1-6     Quality     Value
6 Square 2 B+ B+
American Woodmark 3 B C+
Aristocraft 2 C C
Bertch 4 A A-
Bishop 4 A A-
Bishop Frameless 5 B B+
Bremtown 6 A+ C
Brighton 4 A A+
Brookhaven Closed Closed A B
Cabico 4 B B
Candlelight 4 A A
Canyon Creek 3 B B
CNC 1 B+ A
Collier 5 A B-
Crystal 5 A+ A
Decora 4 A A
Design-Craft 4 B B
Diamond 4 B B
Durasupreme 5 B+ B
Durasupreme frameless 3 C C
(Omega)Dynasty Frameless 4 B C
(Omega)Dynasty Pinnacle Framed 5 A B
Fabuwood 2 A A
Fabuwood Frameless 3 B A+
Fieldstone 4 A B+
Grabill 6 A+ B
Haas 3 B B
Hanssem 1 B+ B
Homecrest 3 B+ B
IKEA (frameless) 1 C C
Innermost framelss 3 B B
Kabinart 3 D D
Kemper 3 B C
Kitchencraft Frameless 3 C B
Kith 3 B+ C+
Kountry Kraft framed 6 A B
Kountry Kraft frameless 6 B B
Kraftmaid 4 B+ A
Legacy 3 B+ C-
LifeArt 1 C+ A
Marsh 2 B+ B
Medallion 5 B+ C+
Merillat 2 C D
Mid Continent 2 C C
Mouser 5 A A-
Mouser Frameless 5 B A
Ovation 4 B C
Plain and Fancy 6 A B
Poggenpohl frameless 6 B C
QuakerMaid frameless 4 B B
Rutt 6 A+ A
Schrock 3 B B
Schuler 5 B+ C+
Shenandoah 3 B C+
Shiloh 4 C C
Showplace 3 B+ B-
Solid Wood Cabinets 1 A A
Starmark 4 A B+
Stylecraft 6 A+ B+
Thomasville* 4 B- C-
Timberlake 3 B C+
Ultracraft Frameless 2 C C
Village 5 A A
Waypoint 2 B B
Wellborn 4 A A
Wellsford 5 A+ A+
Wolf 1 B+ B+
Woodharbor 4 B+ C
Woodmode Closed Closed A A-
Yorktowne 3 C D

* Note: Home Depot can change who manufactures this line although Masterbrands has been manufacturing the line under the Thomasville name for over ten years.

.

Remember that choosing the designer, the cabinet dealer, and the installer you are working with is just as important as the cabinet line.

.

The updated rankings for these cabinet lines and an additional 30 popular cabinet lines are included in our

Cabinet Rankings for 2018  

.

The link below is to a more general review of cabinetry from 2015 explaining types of cabinetry construction:

https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/2015-popular-kitchen-cabinetry-brand-comparison/

.

And for those sensitive to the fumes new cabinetry can give off:

https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/cabinet-off-gassing-carb2-compliance-vocs-greenguard-and-what-you-need-to-know-if-you-are-sensitive-to-fumes/

.

Hoping you make all the right choices . . . .

and of course . . .

Bon Appetit!

Main Line Kitchen Design

Paul, John, Stacia, Ed, Tom, and Julie

48 Comments

  1. Claire Duplain, March 10, 2017 at 6:25 pm:

    Great information. I have a kitchen that is to be approx. 10.4 x 11.5 with an additional area for two pantries: one approx. 36″ w X 24″ d x 93″ and one 24″ w x 24″ d x 93″ h.

  2. pmcalary, March 11, 2017 at 7:25 am:

    Hi Claire,
    Do you have a question?

  3. Lisa Smith, March 18, 2017 at 8:22 pm:

    Thank you for this information!! This helps us decide and gives us an idea if we are getting the best for our budget.

  4. pmcalary, March 19, 2017 at 12:05 pm:

    Hi Lisa,
    Thanks for the compliment. These are just the top 70 cabinet lines that we are familiar with. There are many good lines and good values not mentioned here, but if you apply the construction standards we discuss in our 2015 blog:
    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/2015-popular-kitchen-cabinetry-brand-comparison/
    You can’t go wrong.

  5. Anne, March 20, 2017 at 1:11 am:

    Do you have information about which companies have 1. made in USA cabinets? 2. Which companies are CARB2 compliant/low VOC?
    Thanks!

  6. pmcalary, March 20, 2017 at 12:17 pm:

    All the higher priced cabinetry will be made in the US. The best buy in lower priced cabinetry will be for cabinetry owned by US companies and assembled in the US but the doors and cabinet fronts being made in China. Many cabinet companies will be carb compliant across all price ranges. The less expensive 6 Square and Fabuwood lines we carry are both carb compliant. You will need to ask your cabinet rep about the lines you are considering.

  7. Dp, April 5, 2017 at 12:26 pm:

    Thank you so much for detailed info on how to select cabinets and what to look for in getting good long lasting cabinets. I am getting a estimate for $14k for 26 cabinets and 14 drawers from home depot for American woodmark all plywood construction and solid wood doors. For kraftmaid for exact same number of cabinets and drawers and all plywood construction and solid door is coming to 20k. The woodmark price is very tempting plus I am getting what all good cabinets can have. I am very spectical to decide if I should go for it or not as I read lot of mix and negative reviews for delivery and receiving damaged goods and also lot of other measurement issues. I am planning to call HD person for final measurements before placing the order and most likely my contractor will be installing them. Can you please give me your expert advice to see if I should go for woodmark or not. Thank you so much for your time and guidance.

  8. pmcalary, April 5, 2017 at 1:37 pm:

    Both cabinet lines are well constructed when upgraded. The finishes will be nicer in Kraftmaid but if you spent the $6,000 on an upgraded countertop, appliances, and flooring you might like your finished kitchen more than the difference in Kraftmaid and Woodmark. This really comes down to how much you care about the difference in door style and finish and the how much tiny imperfections in the cabinet box or side panels bother you. There will me more slight defects in a less expensive cabinet line but they can be touched up or the cabinet replaced under warranty if they are unacceptable.

  9. Dp, April 5, 2017 at 4:10 pm:

    How is echelon brand. I was told they are by Armstrong but don’t hear or read much about that brand being talked about. Thanks!

  10. pmcalary, April 5, 2017 at 4:15 pm:

    DP,
    They are a lower price point Pennsylvania brand with a broken web site where they are supposed to show how their cabinetry is made.
    That is not encouraging.

  11. Maura, April 11, 2017 at 10:23 am:

    Hello! Great info since all opinions differ so greatly. Looking at Kraftmaid, Omega (dynasty ) & have you ever heard of Allwood cabinets? Not sure if better to go to kitchen place for Kraftmaid vantage or just do all upgrades at big box stores. Even found dealer that only sells to contractors, but not sure who can actually go there. Big decision & don’t want to mess it up. Costco sells the Allwood cabinetry & only one dealer in Pittsburgh.

  12. pmcalary, April 11, 2017 at 12:23 pm:

    Buying a kitchen at Costco sounds like a bad idea. More than good cabinets you need design help to get a good kitchen. Dealers that only sell to contractors will also be terrible designers. Because customers often don’t appreciate design they overlook the importance of good design. A well designed kitchen is far more valuable that any upgrades to cabinetry. Kraftmaid framed cabinets are the better choice here.

  13. Sury Vepa, April 12, 2017 at 2:12 pm:

    Hi, Your site and blog are very informative. Thanks. We live in Maryland and are in the earlier stages of kitchen and bathroom remodeling. Regarding cabinetry, the proposals we are getting are from Ultracraft frameless (Ferguson suggested this, midcontinent, wolf. From your ratings these seem to fare worse than Fabuwood and CNC. We are given the impression that Ultracraft and midcontinent are a step up from wolf both in terms of quality and price. St. Martin was quoted as the high end. What we want is really a simple shaker cabinet style with reliable and durable construction and few add on accessories. Any suggestions on what we should look for. Thanks.

  14. pmcalary, April 12, 2017 at 3:06 pm:

    CNC, Wolf and Mid Contenents aren’t that different but Fabuwood is a big step up from those lines. St Martin isn’t just a step up from those lines it is a giant step up in quality and in Price. There are lots of well made in between brands.

    Ferguson is not known for having good kitchen designers. It is really more of a bath place. The one thing I always try to get our customers to understand is that the design itself is more important than the cabinet line. It is easy to get well made cabinets just use our rankings. Getting a good design very difficult. And customers because they aren’t kitchen designers usually believe the design they are doing can’t be improved. The blog below stresses this point:
    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/whats-the-best-investment-on-a-new-kitchen/

  15. Shamonne, April 13, 2017 at 2:56 am:

    Thanks so much for helpful information regarding the cabinets. Currently I am planning major kitchen renovation. Around where I live, I was surprised to see Shiloh offers a very good price for insets. We also looked at Brookhaven but they have very limited door styles in our budget price range and it’s way more expensive if we want insets.
    So we probably go with Shiloh but your rating seems a little low , which is concerning. Can you please tell me about your experience with Shiloh? Thanks so much!

  16. pmcalary, April 13, 2017 at 5:54 am:

    Hi Shamonne,
    We might have been a little hard on Shiloh. But I worry about the very small hanging rail and the 3/8″ tops and bottoms on Shiloh cabinetry. In general Shiloh cabinetry construction is somewhat suspect. I would never recommend getting inset cabinetry from a cheaper cabinet line. Inset cabinetry is very hard to do well. For example we sell 6 Square cabinetry which is a less expensive line that does inset but none of our designers sell their inset products because the likelihood of problems is so much greater. We all believe that it takes a better made more expensive cabinet line to reliably build inset cabinetry. You can’t have your cake and eat it too.

  17. shamonne, April 15, 2017 at 1:43 pm:

    Thanks so much for your reply, pmcalary. If you don’t mind, I would like to ask you a few more questions.

    1. Shiloh dealer is saying “beaded inset” is usually more forgiving and recommend it. This dealer has a good reputation although they’ve been around only from 2013. They said they don’t really have problems with “beaded inset”

    2. Also we found a couple of local small cabinet makers. They have been in the area more than 30 years and have very very good reputation. I remember you said small shops don’t have “oven” or something for really good finish. But when I looked at their cabinets, their painted finish was amazing and they said it lasts for a long long time. So just wondering if it would be still better to go with a big manufacturer.

    Thanks so much again for your input.

  18. pmcalary, April 15, 2017 at 3:23 pm:

    As far as smaller cabinet makers are concerned. It depends on how small. Small factories and production facilities are probably OK although they won’t have any good designers. Very small cabinet makers I would stay away from. And as I say all the time: The designs that get sent to us are almost always absolutely terrible. So as much as customers worry about cabinets they should be worrying about using a good designer. Here’s a blog on the very small cabinet makers:
    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/custom-cabinets-handmade-or-homemade/

  19. Joan, April 18, 2017 at 9:44 am:

    We are planning a kitchen remodel and we want maple cabinets painted white. We have been looking at Kraftmaid and there are some bad reviews online for their painted white cabinets. What brand of maple cabinet painted white do you recommend that has a durable finish that does not expose the cracks as much over-time?

  20. pmcalary, April 18, 2017 at 10:32 am:

    Hi Joan,
    All painted white cabinets have a less durable finish than a stained cabinet and because they are white will show any damage instantly. Kraftmaid has a fine finish. As with many online complaints the complaint is more about misconceptions and misplaced blame than actual faults. Because Kraftmaid is sold at both Home Depot and Lowes the people that buy Kraftmaid are often not informed and have unrealistic expectations. Here is a blog on why online reviews are not reliable:
    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/hard-compare-kitchen-cabinet-brands/

  21. Joan, April 18, 2017 at 11:06 am:

    Are Kraftmaid cabinets the same at a local dealer’s shop and a big box store?

  22. Joan, April 18, 2017 at 11:10 am:

    Which maple white cabinet would you recommend that your company sells?

  23. pmcalary, April 18, 2017 at 11:42 am:

    Upgraded to the same levels all Kraftmaid cabinetry should be the same construction whether you are at a private dealer, Lowes, or The Home Depot. There usually is little difference in price between suppliers. Home centers and private dealers will all have a few door styles exclusive to them.

    Home centers sometimes offer sales that aren’t from Kraftmaid that can make them a little less than private dealers but they also have been known to inflate pricing to offer discounts which I find dishonest. I also think that encouraging customers to purchase before a deadline breeds mistakes and bad designs which I also find questionable integrity wise.

  24. pmcalary, April 18, 2017 at 11:49 am:

    All 8 cabinet lines we sell have fine white finishes. In maple the least expensive line would be 6 Square. There are reasons customers would want to upgrade to some of the more expensive lines we carry like Bishop, Brighton, and Wellsford but durability of finish is not a reason. You need to work with a knowledgeable kitchen designer to have the advantages of the lines they carry explained to you. And as I am constantly remind people asking questions about cabinetry on our blog: The designs we get sent to us are usually so bad that getting a better design is far more important than the slight difference in construction quality in the cabinet lines we sell.

  25. Cory, April 19, 2017 at 2:29 pm:

    I have a few questions. Why are you ranking Omega Cabinetry’s lines by calling the frameless line “Dynasty Frameless” and the custom line “Dynasty Pinnacle?” Why haven’t you ranked the actual Dynasty semi-custom line? They are Owned by Omega Cabinetry and the different lines are called: Dynasty (semi-custom), Full Access (frameless), and Pinnacle (full custom). Medallion has four lines within their umbrella as well. Why haven’t you ranked them individually either? I actually question a few of these rankings since the lines you carry have better rankings versus what you go against.

  26. pmcalary, April 19, 2017 at 3:02 pm:

    Hi Cory,
    All the ranked cabinet lines are assumed upgraded to their best construction. If we ranked the lines you refer to un-upgraded they would get very low marks. So only listing their upgraded ranking actually skews their ranking upward. My extended family are Medallion distributors across 6 states so I tried to rank Medallion without regard to my own Family. Feel free to use other resources if you feel we are not impartial enough.

  27. shamonne, April 19, 2017 at 10:58 pm:

    pmcalary, would you recommended inset styles in Brighton Cabinetry? As you mentioned, inset can be difficult to be done well so I wonder if Brighton Cabinetry would be good choice if I want inset. Thanks so much for you blog!!

  28. Paul McAlary, April 20, 2017 at 7:03 am:

    Hi Shamonne.
    Yes we have very good results selling Brighton inset and beaded inset. Our Bishop line is a little less expensive and does inset successfully, but we do find that they require more replacement parts when we design in Bishop inset. We sell both Brighton and Bishop inset cabinetry for the same price that Home Centers sell some Kraftmaid full overly doorstyles. Because of this we sell an unusually high percentage of inset cabinetry. So we have more experience with inset cabinetry than most dealers in our area.

    Our Wellsford line does inset at an even higher level of exactness. They are so confident in their construction standards that they permanently attach the Blum Blumotion drawer tracks to the back of their cabinets eliminating Blum’s adjustable back drawer track attachment.

  29. Melanie Morland, April 22, 2017 at 3:08 pm:

    Hello! I am so glad I found this thread. It has really helped me narrow things down! We are looking for mid range cabinets for a suburban house and are looking at Design Craft. Today though we stopped in a local cabinet store who carries ProCraft which I don’t see on the list. Have you heard of them? Impaired to the Design Craft they seem lower quality but maybe I am not the right judge! Thank you very much.

  30. Melanie Morland, April 22, 2017 at 3:10 pm:

    I meant to type ‘compared’ above not impaired 😉

  31. pmcalary, April 22, 2017 at 3:46 pm:

    Hi Melanie,
    No I haven’t heard of Procraft. I checked their web site and they are another frameless line with no specs on how their cabinetry is made. As you will read in our blog we aren’t big fans of frameless cabinetry in general except for very contemporary door styles and not being transparent as a company gives you another two strikes.

  32. Melanie, April 22, 2017 at 4:41 pm:

    Thank you so much for your quick response! This is seriously the most helpful blog I’ve found on the web and have come back to this thread several times. I did see that on your blog about the frameless and now it makes sense to me why some of their drawers did not look straight and kind of moved around when you pulled them out. Thanks again. We are really between Bertch and Design Craft but given they are about $8,000 apart in pricing I might be willing to do the B rated Design Craft for a home we will only be in for about 5 more years as the line does offer some customization. Have a great Saturday!

  33. GSills, April 23, 2017 at 6:35 am:

    I’m considering Kith cabinets for a condo. We’re turning a large dining room into the kitchen. The price is very good in comparison to other product lines. . Any experiences with Kith ?…

  34. pmcalary, April 23, 2017 at 9:36 am:

    Yes we give it two c’s in this blog.

  35. GSills, April 23, 2017 at 9:43 am:

    How would the Kith cabinets compare to Executive Cabinets

  36. pmcalary, April 23, 2017 at 9:59 am:

    Executive is a frameless line but well made for frameless construction. If you aren’t getting contemporary style cabinets that need to be frameless to look the best why get a less durable cabinet? The Executive web site also lies by saying their frameless construction gives 15% more storage than framed cabinetry. Actually frameless construction gives at most 5% more storage space. It is however easier to access that space. Putting lies on the company web site doesn’t give me a great feeling about the company.

  37. GSills, April 23, 2017 at 10:21 am:

    Thanks for the responses. I’d love to buy the best, but I’m trying to keep it reasonably priced. We are doing about a $175,000 renovation in a condo on the ocean. A chunk of that is all new flooring and baths, AC, etc….. I want a good middle of the road cabinet that gives you some options and will wear well over time. Would you consider Kith or their frameless line Eudora to be “good middle of the road?

  38. pmcalary, April 23, 2017 at 10:30 am:

    No we don’t rate them well. There are many other cheaper better choices just look at the ratings in the blog.

  39. GSills, April 23, 2017 at 10:39 am:

    You seem to like Wellborn.. The cabinet company also sells Wellborn. What percentage higher in price would they approximately run ?

  40. pmcalary, April 23, 2017 at 11:07 am:

    Wellborn has several lines from reasonably priced to expensive. All are good values for the money.

  41. Melanie, April 23, 2017 at 7:04 pm:

    Is Design Craft frameless cabinetry? Thank you.

  42. pmcalary, April 23, 2017 at 9:50 pm:

    Yes Design Craft and just about all cabinet brands with the word craft in them are frameless.

  43. Brian, April 24, 2017 at 11:29 am:

    Hello, we are in a small Northern California town.

    We recently got some rough quotes from a Wellborn vendor for our kitchen remodel Price was relatively steep for our home I feel ($40kish).

    How would you say CNC, Fabuwood, Solid Wood, and Wolf compare to Wellborn as we really liked their style and feel of the cabinets?

    Also we are looking to have a lighter grey painted lower cabinet and a white painted upper with quartz counter tops.

  44. Brian, April 24, 2017 at 12:04 pm:

    Hello, we’re from a small northern California town. We recently spoke with a Wellborn provider and the Kitchen Estimate was rather pricey.

    What are your comparison thoughts on CNC, Fabuwood, Solidwoof and Wolf?

    Also we plan on having the cabinets painted and using a Quartz countertop as well.

    Thank you!

  45. pmcalary, April 24, 2017 at 1:05 pm:

    Those other lines are much less expensive than Wellborn. Wellborn is a great line but not a budget line.

  46. Margie, April 24, 2017 at 1:23 pm:

    Remodeling kitchen: Kitchen designer has affiliation with these 4 cabinetry: Schrock; Designers Choice; CNC and Style craft. Can you kindly provide me feed back on these brands? Which if any are good. Thank you.

  47. pmcalary, April 24, 2017 at 2:01 pm:

    Hi Margie,
    Schrock is OK for the money and CNC is OK for a less expensive cabinet line we sell it sometimes. I don’t like the other lines. Actually when a dealer chose to represent all these particular lines it gives me pause that he or she did’t get one big winner out of 4.

  48. Margie, April 24, 2017 at 2:56 pm:

    Thank you for your quick response. The designer did gear towards Shrock and CNC. Are these brands better than Kraftmaid? My budget is limited. I have to also purchase appliances. Any recommendations on appliances?

Leave a comment


*

  Reviews for Main Line Kitchen Design

55 customer reviews

Average rating:5

 
  We Love Our...
Paul and his team were consummate professionals from start...
by Joe & Diane C on 08/21/2019
  Complete Kitchen...
We completely gutted our small kitchen and the design that...
by Margot T on 03/28/2019
  The Project Came...
Main Line Kitchen Design came highly recommended by a...
by Emily R on 12/26/2018
More Verified Reviews

Wordpress Development and PA SEO by IntuitSolutions