Main Line Kitchen Design
Call us at 610-510-2024

Seaman 307 Elm St Print 2

NOTE: The NEW 2020 more comprehensive Main Line Kitchen Design Cabinet Review is now available CLICK HERE

If you are outside our service area we are happy to answer any questions on this blog’s comment forum.  But please do not contact us on our web site contact page.

All the designers that gave us input on the cabinet lines below have greater than 20 years experience in our industry. When possible all construction specifics were double checked on the web sites for each cabinet line.

Main Line kitchen design acknowledges that we are dealers for the following cabinet lines: Wellsford, Bishop, Brighton, Fabuwood, 6 Square, Legacy Presidential, and CNC.  We could be prejudiced towards ranking these lines more favorably, but we have tried to be impartial. However, since the cabinet lines we carry were chosen specifically for their construction quality and value, our ranking them well should not be a surprise. 

kitchen

FOR PEOPLE OUTSIDE OUR SERVICE AREA OF WITHIN A TWO HOUR DRIVE OF OUR BALA CYNWYD PENNSYLVANIA OFFICE, BELOW IS A LINK TO RECOMMENDED DEALERS IN OTHER AREAS. GOOD DEALERS CLOSE TO YOU CAN BETTER ANSWER QUESTIONS ABOUT WHAT’S AVAILABLE IN YOUR AREA:

Recommended Dealers

Below is our comprehensive list of the top selling cabinet manufacturers in the United States and how they rank for construction quality and  for value considering the price point of each cabinet line. Price point is rated from 1 to 6 with 6 being the most expensive cabinetry on the market.

We rate cabinetry assuming each line is upgraded to the top level of construction available. A grade of A for construction quality will not be equal across different price levels, as the more expensive price point cabinets will have far nicer finishes and construction options.

Note: The highest grade for Quality in any frameless European style cabinet line is a B. While frameless cabinetry is easier to access and is sleeker looking, it is also less durable than the best made framed cabinetry.

The value grade we give is not a rating about the quality of the cabinetry but a rating of how good an investment a cabinet line is considering it’s cost. For example, many of the most expensive well made cabinet lines receive lower marks on value even though as designers we think the cabinetry is the best in it’s class. These lines receive lower grades on value simply because there are competitors offering the same quality at slightly lower prices.

Cabinet Lines

Cabinet line Price level 1-6     Quality Value
21st Century 1 A A-
6 Square 2 B+ B+
Adelphia Kitchens 3 B B
Adormus (frameless) 3 B B
All Wood – framed 2 A A
All Wood – frameless 1 C C
American Woodmark 3 B B
Aristocraft 2 C C
Bertch 4 A A-
Bishop 4 A A-
Bishop Frameless 5 B B+
Bremtown 6 A+ B
Brighton 4 A A+
Brookhaven closed A B
Brubaker 5 A A
Cabico 4 B B
Candlelight 4 A A
Canyon Creek 3 B B
CNC 1 B+ B
Collier 5 A B-
Crystal 5 A A
Decora 4 A A
Desginers Choice 4 A A
Design-Craft 4 B B
Diamond 4 B B
Durasupreme 5 B+ B
Durasupreme frameless 3 C C
Dynasty by Omega (frameless) 4 B B
Dynasty Pinnacle (framed) 5 A B
Echelon Cabinetry 2 B- C
Executive (frameless) 4 B B
Fabuwood 2 A A
Fabuwood (frameless) 3 B B
Fieldstone 4 A B+
Grabill 6 A+ B
Haas 3 B B
Hanssem framed 1 B+ B+
Holiday (frameless) 3 C C
Holiday Kitchens 4 A A
Homecrest 3 B+ B+
Homestead Custom 4 A A-
Ideal Cabinetry 2 B A-
IKEA (frameless) 1 D C
Innovation 2 C C
JSI Cabinetry 1 B+ B+
Kabinart 3 C+ D
Kemper 3 B C
Kitchencraft (frameless) 3 C B
Kith 3 B+ C+
Kountry Kraft (framed) 6 A B
Kountry Kraft (frameless) 6 B B
Kountry Wood 2 C C
Kraftmaid 4 A- A
Legacy 3 B+ B
LifeArt 1 C+ A
Marsh 2 B B
Marsh (frameless) 2 B- B
Medallion 5 B+ B
Merillat 2 C D
Merit Kitchens 4 B+ B
Mid Continent 2 C C
Mouser 5 A A-
Mouser (frameless) 5 B A
Ovation 4 B C
Plain and Fancy 6 A B+
Plato Woodwork 4 A A
Poggenpohl (frameless) 6 B C
QuakerMaid (frameless) 4 B B
RD Henry 4 A A
Rutt 6 A+ A
Schrock 3 B B
Schuler 5 B+ B
Shenandoah 3 B B
Shiloh 4 C C
Showplace 3 B+ B-
Siematic 6 B C
Signature Custom 5 A+ A+
Solid Wood Cabinets Closed
St. Martin (frameless) 4 B B
Starmark 4 A B+
Stylecraft 5 A A
Thomasville* 4 B B
Timberlake 3 B B
Ultracraft (frameless) 2 C C
Village 5 A A
Waypoint 2 B B
Wellborn 4 and 5 A A
Wellsford 5 A+ A+
Wolf 2 A B+
Woodharbor 4 B+ C
Woodmode closed A A-
Yorktowne Now an Elkay CO 4 B+ B

* Note: Home Depot can change who manufactures this line although Masterbrands has been manufacturing the line under the Thomasville name for over ten years.

Remember that choosing the designer, the cabinet dealer, and the installer you are working with is just as important as the cabinet line.

NOTE: The NEW 2020 more comprehensive Main Line Kitchen Design Cabinet Review is now available CLICK HERE

Do you need a more general review of cabinetry from 2015 explaining types of cabinetry construction?

2015 Brand Comparison

For those interested in Cabinet Off Gassing, VOC’s, and Carb2 Compliance, here is our take on the fumes your new cabinets can emit:

Learn More

100 Comments

  1. pmcalary, August 3, 2020 at 3:30 pm:

    Hi Gene,
    Sorry, I have never heard of Fashion Cabinets. Their website gives no information on their construction and they are not listed in the Kitchen and Bath Buying Guide that Kitchen and Bath Design News puts out listing the most popular 160 cabinet brands.

  2. Gene, August 3, 2020 at 3:20 pm:

    Fashion cabinets are said to have been in production for decades, out of the state of UT. I don’t see a rating for them; are they under a former name or simply not been reviewed?

  3. pmcalary, May 21, 2020 at 9:05 am:

    Hi Julia I’m replying to your second comment.

  4. Julia, May 20, 2020 at 1:09 pm:

    Paul,
    This page is so helpful. Most other articles/webpages avoid being direct about the different brands. I also appreciate your advice about being realistic in regard to what your are purchasing. That is where I need help. We are using cabinets to build a home office/craft room. The cabinets will be white and will cover 11 linear feet in an L-shape with wall cabinets & shelves only above the long wall. We don’t want to break the bank. In your experience what would be a couple of good options.

  5. pmcalary, March 11, 2020 at 11:25 pm:

    No as you have surmised birdseye maple and Woodmode are expensive

  6. Russ, March 11, 2020 at 5:28 pm:

    Looking to remodel 2 small bathrooms, one his and hers bathroom and a master bathroom. Have looked at Decora, Miralis, Woodmode, Elmwood and Siteline. I have spoken to three different designers/suppliers. We like the slab look with and without a textured finish. Favorite so far for the master is a birdseye maple finish engineered wood finish from Woodmode, but it seems quite a bit more pricy than similar engineered wood offerings (although not birds eye maple) from the other cabinet makers. Am I missing something here ?

  7. pmcalary, February 27, 2020 at 12:06 pm:

    Hi Karen,

    They are close but I do not know their finishes well enough to judge. You can though. It’s somply a matter of which you like best they are both equally durable.

  8. KarenM, February 27, 2020 at 9:35 am:

    Thank you for the quick response!! I am planning on doing white/off white in both rooms. Homecrest is considerably cheaper for the kitchen but not the bathroom and I definitely want better cabinets in the kitchen so I’ll get Koch or Crestwood. Are either of those better for white paint finishes and does it NOT matter that Koch is not plywood?

  9. pmcalary, February 27, 2020 at 7:26 am:

    Hi Karen,
    Shilo is the only cabinet line not reviewed well by us due to their insufficient hanging rail. If they changed this they would get good reviews. I have even instructed homeowners that liked their very nice door styles and finishes to fix the cabinet construction themselves.

    Crestwood and Koch get great reviews on our new 2020 cabinet review. Homecrest gets slightly lower reviews but still very good ones. Homecrest is less expensive though and a good value for stained finishes.

    I’d pick Crestwood or Koch for the kitchen if you can afford it, and Homecrest where you want to save.

  10. KarenM, February 26, 2020 at 10:38 pm:

    Hi Paul – all of this information is so helpful. I’m trying to take it all in but am wondering. We are remodeling our master bathroom and kitchen. The cabinet lines we’re looking at are Crestwood (likely the Core line), Koch Classic, Shiloh or Homecrest.

    I think Crestwood and Shiloh are all plywood construction but not sure of thickness. Koch and Homecrest are not but were reviewed highly on your list.

    Which of these would you choose – Crestwood is the highest by a fair amount – and if we don’t need something as high quality in the bathroom would you choose something different for that room?

    Thank you.

  11. Paul McAlary, February 18, 2020 at 5:44 pm:

    Hi Mitul,
    Upgraded they are all pretty equal in construction and so well constructed. Price wise usually Kraftmaid is less because it is not as custom a line as Starmark or Brighton. Brighton is usually the best value for a painted cabinet and Starmark has the nicest stained finishes. So if the pricing is the same I’d pick Brighton for a painted cabinet which is why we carry them.

  12. Mitul, February 18, 2020 at 5:04 pm:

    Thank you for the information. It was very helpful.

    What would you recommend or what would be your preference if you had to pick one of the 3 cabinets lines from below given that I am getting the same or pretty similar price quotes from all 3 vendors.

    Kraftmaid (Lowes)
    Brighton (Independent cabinet company)
    Starmark (Independent cabinet company)

    Which one would you pick 1st to go with and why?

    Thank you,
    M

  13. Paul McAlary, February 18, 2020 at 3:25 pm:

    Hi Mital,
    Since home center designers are less experienced they often don’t tell customers things like “painted cabinets damage easily” Also home center customers can be in a rush due to a sale or a rushed time line and so they are less likely to get or pay attention to warnings from designers. When problems ensue that they didn’t expect they blame the cabinet line instead understanding that the problem was the designer or their installer’s fault or simply a propert of all cabinetry. The IKEA effect link below explains some of the issue

    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/ikea-effect-physiological-phenomenon-drives-kitchen-designers-crazy/

  14. Mitul, February 18, 2020 at 2:42 pm:

    Hi,

    Thanks for the input. But I am having a hard time understanding what you mean by this statement:

    Kraftmaid gets bad reviews because they are sold in home centers and the customers don’t understand what they bought and that things like paint damage easily. Customers from independent dealers are usually better informed and are also often not as tough on cabinetry nor as likely to complain.

    Please elaborate.

    Thank you,
    M

  15. pmcalary, February 18, 2020 at 12:11 pm:

    Upgraded to all plywood construction the Vantage line is identical to Lowes Kraftmaid. However the designer may be much better at the independent dealer which can be far more important than the cabinet lines you are considering here which are all good.

    All painted cabinets get damaged easily especially when they get wet. Starmark and Brighton are nicer more expensive lines but they will get damaged just as easily. Kraftmaid gets bad reviews because they are sold in home centers and the customers don’t understand what they bought and that things like paint damage easily. Customers from independent dealers are usually better informed and are also often not as tough on cabinetry nor as likely to complain.

  16. Mitul, February 18, 2020 at 11:12 am:

    Hello,

    Could you please provide your opinion regarding Kraftmaid cabinets from Lowes. We were given a quote of about 20K cabinets plus installation. The Kraftmaid cabinets looked good at Lowes but as I am researching more and more into this brand, I am reading a lot of negative reviews about the paint coming off fairly quickly, very poor customer service, warranty issues. I even met with an independent contractor who also sells Kraftmaid Vantage line and he said that the Kraftmaid brand at Lowes is a lower quality vs the vantage line from kraftmaid that they sell.

    We are completely demolishing our existing kitchen and redoing the flooring, cabinets, new appliances and want to make sure the cabinets we are getting would be a great quality and will last us for the coming years.

    Other option we were looking at is Starmark and Brighton.

    Please provide your pro/cons with Kraftmaid vs Starmark and Brighton cabinetry.

    Thank you,
    M

  17. pmcalary, February 13, 2020 at 10:00 am:

    Hi Raymond,
    Sorry but lots of novice design ideas here. Refrigerator should not be centered and should be located towords one end with door hinge on that end so that countertop is more usable when door is open. Over-centerting is a common thing done by less experienced designers. 42″ wall cabinets down to the countertop will make the countertop unusable as you can’t open the doors without taking things off the countertop. On such a short run I would never bring any cabinetry down to the countertop. Get a designers help creating your dry bar. Or look on Houzz.com at examples of dry bars. If you can’t find an example of what you are considering there is a reason. This bar area is attached to a main refrigerator but you can see how a bar refrigerator works better on the end.

  18. Raymond, February 12, 2020 at 4:39 pm:

    I’m working on a small project, not a full kitchen. This is a detached section of 5 cabinets that will become a dry bar. The base is two 18″ cabinets with a 24″ wine and beverage cooler between them. The wall cabinets will be two 18″ x 42″ glass door units resting on the countertop with a 24″ wide wine rack between them. Everything will be white painted Shaker. The problem has been finding a suitable wine rack. A local dealer sells Wolf Classic and Waypoint. Wolf has no 24″ wine rack but does offer a 24″ x 36″ open bookcase that I could retrofit with a wine rack structure but it’s really too tall. I’ve considered building a 24″ x 30″ box from scratch or using another brand of wine rack but that’s probably not the ideal solution. Our designer has steered us toward Waypoint who does have a 24″ x 24″ ‘X’ wine rack. It appears you like Wolf a little better than Waypoint. For what we’re building, can you see any reason that Waypoint might be a disappointment?

  19. pmcalary, February 11, 2020 at 9:42 am:

    Hi Pam,
    Since the Duracraft finish is new I know very little about it. Your designer may have insights. However all painted finishes chip easily and get damaged by water easily so if you are thinking that the Duracraft finish would prevent this that will not be the case. There are now furniture refinishing companies (at least in our area) that can touch up a whole kitchen 5 or ten years later for about $500. So there is probably a safety net if you beat up the white cabinetry whichever finish you choose.

  20. Pam McGowan, February 10, 2020 at 7:25 pm:

    I about to commit to a full kitchen remodel with white shaker full overlay maple Kraftmaid Vantage cabinets from a dealer. The thing I’m struggling with is paint or durakraft plus? I’ve read stories about paint pealing and cracking and I’m so afraid I just am not sure which is the better choice. What is your opinion of the durability of these finishes and which is the better choice. Thank you so much!

  21. Paul McAlary, February 9, 2020 at 2:38 pm:

    Not Acrylic doors. Those will be incredibly expensive. Laminate doors would be the compromise that would get you close to the look but be durable and not overly expensive. There will be many frameless cabinet lines that will come with a plywood or plywood core upgrade and not be overly expensive. We sell several for example Bishop or Fabuwood but there are many. Here’s a link to a Fabuwood kitchen in that door style. https://www.houzz.com/hznb/projects/contemporary-kitchen-with-white-laminate-doors-pj-vj~1973010

  22. Laura K., February 9, 2020 at 11:56 am:

    Oh dear – now I may be back to the drawing board! What brands do you recommend that have solid plywood construction and a laminate or acrylic high gloss finish?

  23. pmcalary, February 9, 2020 at 9:19 am:

    Hi Laura,
    I think all the cabinetry you are considering may be European Frameless cabinetry with thermafoil hi gloss doors. You have to be very careful as the cabinetry in this style will probably be particleboard and not durably constructed. Don’t overload drawers. Base, wall, and pantry cabinets should not be wider than 30″. Thermafoil is also sensitive to heat and will melt if an oven seal leaks or your design puts cabinetry too close to gas burners. Use heat shields on either side of a range to reduce the risk. I would not use professional cooktops in a thermafoil kitchen. Foil cabinetry tends to delaminate after about 20 years so your kitchen has a predetermined expiration date.

    The high gloss sleek contemporary style kitchen you like could be done more safely with a laminate door without these issues. A high gloss laminate instead of a foil would not delaminate and would not be overly sensitive to heat but it might not be exactly the look you are going for. It would be a compromise I would make though as I’m overly cautious.

  24. Laura K., February 8, 2020 at 7:39 pm:

    These reviews are so helpful. Thank you!

    Any opinion on Greencastle or En Pointe Cabinetry? Looking at both in white high gloss.

    Alternatives are Ultracraft UltraLux (my most expensive quote, but looks similar to En Pointe for $4K less) or Diamond.

  25. pmcalary, February 8, 2020 at 12:02 pm:

    33″ wall cabinets are a custom size and will put you in a pretty expensive cabinet line. Your ceiling will also have to be perfectly level for it to work. 30″ wall cabinets with a two piece crown molding is a more sensible and cost effective solution. 36″ cabinets would not work at all.

  26. B, February 8, 2020 at 12:53 am:

    Hello Paul,
    Do you think it would be best to use 33” upper cabinet over a 30” or 36” with a 90” ceiling height. The reason we are considering this is because we would like to get as much storage as possible but still have a nice crown molding. Thank you

  27. pmcalary, February 5, 2020 at 7:20 pm:

    Hi Greg,
    Interesting question since CNC is improving every day and the Hallmark is in the Fabuwood Value line. For the same price I would pick Fabuwood and order 3/4″ shelves for all the wide cabinetry. The finish on Fabuwood is more consistent. Interesting question though. A year from now I wonder if that will be the case?

  28. Greg, February 5, 2020 at 7:13 pm:

    Hi Paul.

    Since you sell both brands, I am very interested in your opinion. For the same price, which do you choose and why:

    Fabuwood Hallmark Frost or CNC Park Ave. white?

    Thank you

  29. Paul McAlary, January 31, 2020 at 10:05 am:

    Hi Josh,
    While cabinet lines like Homecrest are still pretty well built, construction wise, even without all plywood construction, all the exposed sides on your cabinets must be plywood or else they will be plastic and fade over time and look terrible. Wall cabinets that are on ends or will hold lots of plates or are not connected to cabinetry on both sides also need to be plywood to not fall apart due to added stress. Once you make these cabinets plywood you are more that halfway to all plywood. Also the all plywood upgrade is usually discounted and comes with upgraded drawers and hinges. Not to mention that most kitchen designers couldn’t be relied upon to make the cabinetry you needed plywood plywood. I’d suck it up and get all plywood.

  30. Josh, January 31, 2020 at 9:40 am:

    What is your opinion on the 3 levels of homecrest cabinets… I know the solid plywood are the best, but will the others hold up? Thanks for any input it’s greatly appreciated

  31. pmcalary, January 29, 2020 at 4:13 pm:

    Sorry I don’t know Mantra and they give no construction information online

  32. Josh, January 29, 2020 at 3:21 pm:

    Thank you for the information about the Wolf and Aspect cabinet. It is greatly appreciated! I have one more question have you ever heard about Mantra cabinets they are out of MasterBrand…thoughts? Seem to be equivalent to Wolf but come with soft closing doors etc with no upgrade

  33. pmcalary, January 29, 2020 at 12:42 pm:

    Hi Josh,
    Aspect skins all the exposed ends of their cabinets which helps if they don’t offer plywood construction. However I don’t like the photo they show of their hanging rail. It looks to small to properly support wall cabinets especially if they don’t offer a plywood upgrade. Wolf probably isn’t as nice looking and I would never get a custom color in an inexpensive cabinet line but the Wolf construction is better.

  34. Josh Noble, January 28, 2020 at 11:31 pm:

    I have a question. We are building a new modest house and are looking at Wolf Classic cabinets. We are waiting on pricing from the designer. My wife wold like to upgrade to get the color she prefers and the soft close drawers etc. The designer recommended Aspect cabinetry to us if we were thinking of upgrading the cabinets to the higher end WOLF…what makes me nervous is the Aspect definitely has way nicer finishes as the designer pointed out, but The frame is not made of plywood… she said that the ASPECT should hold up better, but that goes against everything I have learned because you want a plywood frame correct?..it is some type of particle board and real wood veneer…what are your thoughts…we have a tight/limited budget and really want to get something that is gong to last

  35. pmcalary, January 28, 2020 at 8:16 am:

    Hi Lynn,
    Belmont appears to be a frameless line and so one that we would only recommend for a contemporary slab door style. Belmont also doesn’t explain how their cabinets are made on their website so we won’t be able to rate them unless we can find a spec book for them. In a frameless line I would worry about getting the lesser 1600 line over the 1900. But since they give no information I can’t really say. Their product looks elegant but if the cabinets are not a 3/4″ thick plywood box I would not recommend them.

    Kitchen designers that recommend frameless lines for styles that aren’t contemporary also can worry me as the choice shows a possible lack of appreciation of the two cabinet construction methods. Often these type designers only care about color and style and take less care in making sure their designs are safe, durable, and well constructed.

    If the frameless cabinets you purchase have at least 3/4 Plywood construction or at a minimum 5/8″ plywood construction I would consider them for a contemporary door style because they will look more sleek. If you want a shaker or more traditional door style I would only even consider a 3/4″ plywood box. You could be spending less to get a better made cabinet in a traditional door style so if you really want a frameless cabinet pay for the upgrade to 3/4″ ply if it is available.

  36. Lyn Trombley, January 27, 2020 at 8:39 pm:

    Thanks for all the good info. I anxiously await the 2019 ratings. My designer is showing me Bellmont 1600 series which is not listed on the 2018 list

  37. pmcalary, January 26, 2020 at 8:23 pm:

    Hi Laurie,
    Imperial is a lesser Koch line and not as well built as Kraftmaid upgraded to APC. Koch Classic upgraded to it’s best construction is well made but I probably still go Kraftmaid here. Possibly because I know the line better.

  38. Laurie, January 26, 2020 at 8:13 pm:

    Hi,
    Would like to hear your opinion of Koch Cabinets. We had been considering Kraftmaid purchased through Lowe’s during a 30% off sale, but discovered we can get Koch’s Imperial line for a similar price.

  39. pmcalary, January 20, 2020 at 10:04 am:

    Hi KJPS,
    Sorry, This is just one of the many reasons it is a terrible idea to have kitchen cabinetry made by a small cabinet maker. Not only is the product nearly always less durable and less consistent with all kinds of potential design and construction issues, but as you have found out you have no effective warranty. Stop trying to continue on the misguided path you started on. Just start from scratch with a named brand cabinet line and find a good kitchen designer to work with. You almost certainly have kitchen design problems since no good kitchen designer would work with a small carpentry shop.

  40. KJPS, January 19, 2020 at 9:08 pm:

    Hi Josh,
    My question is a little different that what others have posted. Hired a custom cabinet company in our area (Michigan). He did not complete the work, leaving us with no doors or drawer fronts and some unfinished mill/trim work. We have choosen stained select cherry. I am seeking an unfinished materials so we can have it custom stained to match the existing. We will be moving from the home in approximately 5 years. Any advice on how to get the materials to finish our project? The kitchen companies we have contacted will not finish the project unless we do a total tear out and start all over.

  41. pmcalary, January 18, 2020 at 10:02 am:

    Hi Josh,
    The cabinets appear very well constructed RTA cabinets. However that fact that I have never heard the brand name, that the Arti Craft website appears broken, and that 405 seems to be the only dealer that carries Arti Craft is troublesome. Not enough information to really help you.

  42. Josh R, January 17, 2020 at 3:56 pm:

    Good Afternoon,

    Any thoughts on Articraft Cabinetry? They are here in SoCal.

    Specs here:
    http://www.405cabinets.com/specifications/#1471133780846-3e260261-2499

    Thanks in advance!

  43. pmcalary, January 17, 2020 at 7:07 am:

    Hi Shruti,
    Reviews are not reliable because all cabinet lines get bad reviews. Customers often don’t know what they are talking about, don’t understand what they ordered, have a bad contractor or designer that is responsible for the problem, actually had a problem but it was a rare event, or they are the homeowner is nuts. The only cabinet line that gets good reviews is terrible and is of course IKEA. Read why here.

    Both Fabuwood and Wolf are well constructed in there better lines. They are not know for beautiful stains though. They have a few nice stained finishes such as grays, buy cherry and maple type finishes look better on those woods in a higher grade of wood. It is just a matter of looks though and if you like the stained finish you should be fine. American cabinet lines using US woods and stains will have nicer finishes but also be about 25% more expensive. Lower priced US lines that you might line a cherry or maple stain in more might be, Shenandoah at Lowes, American Woodmark at Home Depot, Legacy, Homecrest, or others.

  44. Shruti, January 16, 2020 at 9:32 pm:

    Thank you for this excellent forum! We are looking to renovate the kitchen and I like stained cabinets much more than painted ones. I am considering fabuwood vs. wolf classic, but the reviews are all over the place. Which of these two will you recommend? Are there any other cabinet lines in the same range, that provide good stained cabinets?

  45. pmcalary, January 15, 2020 at 9:33 am:

    Hi Josh,
    I don’t like buying cabinets on line and without a good designer to help you. So I’d choose waypoint over the Fabuwood.
    The designer is more important that the cabinet line.
    Procraft is a good line that’s sold out west. But again I would only buy it if the dealer is local and a designer is available to work with.

  46. Josh Roberts, January 14, 2020 at 4:54 pm:

    Hi, Paul,

    Thanks again for maintaining this long running blog full of useful information. I am looking for a lower end, well built cabinet. Based on your reviews and blog responses, I have narrowed it down to the following and would like to ask for your analysis.

    The kitchen is an L-shape, roughly 197″ long by 91″ deep with a 96″ ceiling. All designs equal, and I will consider sending a design on Friday before my final decision, I have gotten quotes for the following:

    Fabuwood Onyx Cobblestone – $7,595.25 (No local dealer, would be shipped from an online distributor.)

    Waypoint 760F Cherry Slate all plywood upgrade – $8,611.95 (Local dealers and designers, one of which being City Cabinet Center, which you recommend to SOCAL on one of your other blogs.)

    – Wolf – No local dealer, claim they don’t do business in CA.
    – Solid Wood – No longer dealing outside of local NJ/NY area.
    – 21ST Century Cabinets – Multiple failed attempts to the contact us link.

    Might consider FX, Green Castle, or ROK but you haven’t given a rating to those lines.

    YOUR INPUT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED!

  47. pmcalary, January 13, 2020 at 4:39 pm:

    This can happen with all painted solid wood cabinetry. The dealer is requesting this and not Brighton. It would actually be slightly less noticeable on Brighton then the other lines because Brighton sands the seams to a higher degree than Kraftmaid or Thomasville.

  48. rose m nolan, January 13, 2020 at 2:06 pm:

    Hi Paul,
    I was looking for cabinet for my bathroom. I was comparing Brighton, Kraftsmaid, and Thomasville. I am leaning toward Brighton. What concerns me is I am looking at a painted finish and Brighton is asking me to sign a waiver acknowledging that the seams might spread. Is this normal? Do the seam on painted finished spread to the point where it is that noticeable? Do other manufacturers require a waiver?

  49. pmcalary, January 10, 2020 at 6:34 pm:

    hi Paul,
    No but we will post new expanded ratings for 2020 the end of January or Early February after KBIS, The National Kitchen and Bath Industry Show

  50. Paul Domijan, January 10, 2020 at 4:09 pm:

    Do you have 2019 ratings

  51. pmcalary, January 10, 2020 at 2:48 pm:

    Hi Shawn,
    This is where the design becomes so important – when you sell a home. Spending money on cabinetry, countertop, and appliance splurges has little resale value. While removing a wall or moving a doorway could change the entire layout of your home and make it much more sell-able. Researching to find the best designer to work with is where you should start.

  52. Shawn, January 10, 2020 at 1:42 pm:

    Hi Paul – This is truly a great site and resource. Thank you. We will be renovating our kitchen but we may end up selling the house in the next couple of years. If we were staying we would invest in inset cabinets. But where we may be selling we’re instead planning on saving money with full overlay. The reason we like inset is the tight gaps. Do you have any information on which manufacturers have the tightest tolerances for their full overlay doors/drawers both within each unit as well as when units are placed side-by-side? Value is a consideration so we’re looking for the best combo or tight tolerance and price if that makes sense. Thanks!

  53. Paul McAlary, January 10, 2020 at 7:41 am:

    Hi Monica,
    As far as I know Starmark doesn’t make frameless cabinetry so at least in one respect you aren’t comparing apples to apples. The other lines like Omega and Crystal have several different types of construction so it is hard to know what you are being quoted.Maybe Chris can figure out exactly which version of each line you got quotes on.

  54. Monica, January 9, 2020 at 10:59 pm:

    Thanks so much Paul — I will email Chris now and will definitely call tomorrow. I am definitely open to suggestions in this corner, and luckily the island can move around since we have one room — but few walls. Assuming the same (or very similar) design and these prices (~27k Starmark, ~31.5k Crystal, ~31k for Omega) I am also curious to know if there is any particular brand, of these, you would suggest going with?

    Looking forward to speaking with Chris, and thank you again for your help! I will ask him tomorrow but maybe other people are considering these brands as well 🙂 Thanks!

    Monica

  55. pmcalary, January 9, 2020 at 8:23 am:

    Hi Monica,
    Accessing the dead space in the design you show is a waste of money as you would be spending a lot to get to space that isn’t really usable anyway. Dewils is another good brand like the ones above.
    .
    The one red flag that I get from your post is that your concern about accessing every bit of space is a concern that often drives homeowners to overcrowd their kitchens. Especially since you say your kitchen is small, has an island (which eats up space), and the cabinetry costs would indicate a kitchen that isn’t that tiny. You might want to send us your design to look to get an unbiased opinion. Unfortunately many designers will let customers overcrown their kitchens because the extra cabinetry makes them money and telling people what they don’t want to hear can be difficult.

    We give free advice outside our service area on Fridays between 2-4pm EST. You can call Chris this Friday, he is extension #8

  56. Monica, January 9, 2020 at 1:43 am:

    Hi Paul,

    First off — thanks so much for all the useful information in here and in this blog! It’s been a huge help as we search for kitchen cabinets. I’d love your advice on our options. We received estimates for Omega, Bellmont, Crystal, and Starmark and the KD who sells Starmark also has Dewils which isn’t in your list. We love the modern look, so we really like the frameless options and are open to framed with slab overlay doors.

    Our kitchen is smaller, has strange angles (like this but smaller + tighter https://st.hzcdn.com/simgs/8b1181ac0ee01016_14-1348/home-design.jpg) and little wall space, so every KD has a different approach. The estimates we’ve gotten are: ~27k for Starmark (8.5k island only), ~31.5k for Crystal (custom + affordable, 6.5k island only), ~31k for Omega, and ~27k for Bellmont. Only the Crystal estimate includes custom cabinets, the others have dead space. What would you recommend? How does Dewils compare, especially if it is slighter higher than these quotes?

    Thanks so much!

  57. pmcalary, January 8, 2020 at 6:43 pm:

    Hi Vanessa,
    I like Wolf Classic and we rate it well in this review as it is Wolf”s highest level of construction. Cabinet companies get all kinds of meaningless reviews from customers primarily because people in general aren’t truly qualified to understand what they should expect. Most of the bad reviews all cabinet companies receive both well constructed lines and poorly made lines can be traced to customers misunderstanding what they bought, mistakes by the kitchen designer or cabinet dealers, or poor installation by the contractor. Below is our blog on this topic:
    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/hard-compare-kitchen-cabinet-brands/

  58. Vanessa, January 8, 2020 at 5:56 pm:

    How do you feel about Wolf Classic line? it seems their reviews are all over the place….

  59. pmcalary, January 8, 2020 at 5:48 pm:

    Hi Wailana,
    I believe we were able to get specifications on Belmont cabinetry in the past and commented on them. However I can’t find any specifics on their website or on line now. In general we only recommend frameless cabinetry that is 3/4″ plywood or plywood core and only for slab door styles. Shaker or recessed or raised panel door style are better done in framed cabinetry. It is more durable and the style doesn’t suffer from the slightly smaller overlay on full overlay doors.

  60. Wailana, January 8, 2020 at 5:16 pm:

    Do you have any ratings or experience with Bellmont Cabinetry, specifically the 1600 series, frameless, Alder wood?
    Thank you, Wailana

  61. pmcalary, January 5, 2020 at 12:18 pm:

    Hi Grant,
    Sorry the Pioneer web site gives no information on how they are made.

  62. Grant, January 5, 2020 at 12:11 pm:

    Sir/Madam

    Do you have any ratings for Pioneer Cabinets made in Michigan ?

  63. pmcalary, January 5, 2020 at 11:44 am:

    Hi John,
    I am actually also very surprised that HomeCrest was less than Fabuwood. It is generally more expensive. It sounds like the dealer selling the Fabuwood is marking cabinetry up a great deal while the dealer selling HomeCrest is being very competative. I would definitely pick Homecrest over Fabuwood for any stained cabinet and as far as a painted cabinet is concerned you might notice that the paint on the HomeCrest is not as smooth as the Fabuwood paint job because the wood is Maple instead of Birch and more difficult to sand. If this doesn’t bother you I would then get HomeCrest for a painted cabinet as well. Assuming all things being equal.

  64. pmcalary, January 5, 2020 at 11:35 am:

    Hi Nancy,
    My input would be to not listen to any other advice from the person that recommended Merillat. Even if the cabinetry wasn’t poorly constructed to actually recommend Merrilat above other superior built and better prices lines shows a complete lack of knowledge of kitchen design and of the cabinet industry. If this was a home owner it can be forgiven as simply not knowing what they are talking about. If this was a contractor it is telling for several reasons and I would not use them for my renovation.

  65. Nancy Osgood, January 4, 2020 at 8:41 am:

    Hi Merillat cabinets were recommended to me. I can not find one good review. Can you offer your input? Thank You.

  66. pmcalary, January 4, 2020 at 8:17 am:

    Hi Nadine,
    Thanks and a very savvy question. While no one can really know what will happen when ACProducts Inc takes over Kraftmaid I will say that ACP has been a good steward of the other lines they have acquired. In fact Yorktowne went from a pretty crummy cabinet line to a well constructed one after ACP took over. Of course as soon as Yorktowne became a good line then The big home builder Toll Brothers STOPPED using them and switched to another crummy line.

    Tough to give advice without a crystal ball but I would fall back on selecting the best designer and cabinet dealer to work with. If the same designer sells both lines than ask them their opinion. If it is two different companies than goole both dealers and work with the designer and dealer with the best reputation. The cabinet lines (if upgraded to the same level of construction) I don’t think will matter.

  67. Nadine, January 3, 2020 at 8:45 pm:

    I am so impressed with your advice. We are adding on a kitchen area to a very old house. Considering Kraftmaid or Wellborn solid construction cherry with a raised panel for cabinets.. Frankly I am lost . The Kraftmaid cabinets are nice but now that company has been sold. Are Wellborn cabinets a good choice ? This is a family home and I will probably live here forever. I need a reliable , traditional choice . Is there another company that I’ve overlooked? Any advice is appreciated

  68. John, January 3, 2020 at 6:13 pm:

    Sorry I should have mentioned the Homecrest are fully upgraded all plywood.

    John

  69. John, January 3, 2020 at 6:11 pm:

    Hi Paul – This website is super helpful. We were planning to go with Fabuwood cabinets but my builder suggested we get another designer to provide a competing bid – they thought Homecrest would work well for our kitchen and they made some minor adjustments to the design – we are going to the 9′ ceiling with cabinets – the tops being glass. With Homecrest they don’t need to be stacked and the second designer thought that would be a better look. The Homecrest also came in about 10% less – and even the designer selling them was surprised as he thought he’d be abuout 10% more than fabuwood. Do you think we’ll be happy with Homecrest?

    Many thanks.

  70. pmcalary, January 3, 2020 at 9:45 am:

    Hi Mike Great questions!
    As far as inexpensive cabinet lines go we like many but know the lines I list below best. You have to be careful with the inexpensive lines to make sure that they are assembled in the factory, and that the dealer has a good reputation, and be aware that there could be more damage during deliveries as these lines use less expensive carriers. Of course damages get replaced by any good dealer.
    Fabuwood
    Wolf
    J&K
    CNC
    Procraft
    6Square
    Green Forrest
    and many others

    Generally drawers are better than roll outs and cost exactly the same. If a kitchen is big enough and price is not a concern, we usually still leave one cabinet with no interior convenience like roll ours or Lazy Susans for awkward to store items like Woks, Blenders, etc. And we include one cabinet with adjustable roll outs for items with unusual heights.

    In REALY big kitchens all the kitchen gadgets and pull outs start to make sense. The smaller the kitchen the more saving storage space is a premium.

    Always remember that roll outs and drawers waste about 20% of a cabinets space and things like mixer lifts and Magic Corners or corner drawers waste 50% of a cabinet’s space or more and are less functional but have “the cool factor”

  71. Mike, January 2, 2020 at 9:45 pm:

    Hi Paul,

    Thank you for all of the info you share on your blog – it’s a great resource! My wife & I are in the process of planning to remodel our kitchen. We’ve been looking at cabinets and really like the Kraftmaid Grandview square full design with maple wood, painted white: https://www.kraftmaid.com/grandview-square-full/

    I know you recommend Fabuwood a lot. Do they have anything similar that you’d recommend and/or are there any other cabinet companies that you’d recommend looking into for similarly designed / priced / quality cabinets? (The cabinet dealer we initially went to did not carry Fabuwood, but other cabinet dealers in our area do carry them).

    Also, do you have any recommendations on where in a kitchen (if at all) to include lower cabinet doors with pullout shelves instead of lower cabinet drawers? I’m not sure if the answer is specific to an individual kitchen design but figured I’d ask. We’ve been working with a kitchen designer and have a design that we really like, but noticed all of the lower cabinets are drawers. Just thought I’d try to get your opinion.

    Thanks for any help you’re able to give!

  72. pmcalary, January 1, 2020 at 4:30 pm:

    Hi Steve,
    I can’t find specs on how they are made but from their website I can tell that they are very a simple imported RTA cabinet line. $7,500 is a lot of money but $20,000 in Fabuwood cabinetry is a lot of cabinetry so your home must be large. A large space would usually call for a more sophisticated design and a larger spec book than the very inexpensive lines would offer. The most inexpensive cabinetry like the Carolina Heartland cabinetry can still last a lifetime if it well built as you say. However I can see from the web site that the cabinetry finish looks cheap. One reason we like Fabuwood so much is that in the painted cabinet styles, customers and even many designers, can’t tell the difference between Fabuwood and very expensive lines.

    The photos on the Carolina Heartland website and their website itself is so amateurish that I find it troubling. We sell and have sold lines that can be as much as 25% less than Fabuwood. While they look close in quality we only recommend using them on homes that are to be flipped. When it’s your own home and you plan on staying indefinitely I think it is a mistake for our customers even saving the 25%, much less the 38%, you would be saving here.

    Some of the cheaper lines that you might consider that would be less than Fabuwood but not quite so cheap looking would be:
    J&K, CNC, ProCraft, The Fabuwood Value and standard overy lines (25% less), The Wolf less expensive lines, Green Forest, and some others.

    If a cabinet companies web site does not look as nice as a small contractors that should be a red flag. Your warranty and the likely hood that the line will even exist in a short time make buying cabinetry from them riskey. Always Google the cabinet dealer too. They are who you are actually buying cabinets from and if they have poor reviews or no reviews then I would not buy from them.

  73. Steve, January 1, 2020 at 11:11 am:

    Hi Paul. Thanks for all the advice you provide on this blog – its incredibly helpful!. I know you’re a big advocate of Fabuwood for their overall quality/value, and I have specifically sought out well-reviewed kitchen designers in my area (Charleston, SC) that carry the line. One designer provided me a quote in Fabuwood Galaxy for ~$20k. He also quoted the same design in a brand called Carolina Heartwood Cabinet for ~$12.5k. You do not rate Carolina Heartwood but they seem to have many, if not all, of the construction specifications you recommend. What are your thoughts on this brand? Do you think its worth spending over 50% more to get Fabuwood? Thanks!

  74. pmcalary, January 1, 2020 at 11:08 am:

    Hi Lauryn,
    J&K is an inexpensive well constructed line but I would recommend not buying any cabinetry RTA. Buy it assembled by the factory but also work with a good kitchen designer on your kitchen. It depends on the door style and finish you are looking for but Fabuwood has the nicest painted white shaker and recessed panel doors for a similar price. J&K has some nice raised panel doors and some nice colors.

    One of the most frustrating things for good kitchen designers is how delusional the public is becoming about needing help designing their kitchens. HGTV, design software, and the the amount of information people can gather online from websites like ours has made the public ridiculously over confident.
    .
    As kitchen designers we know that a little bit of knowledge is especially disastrous in our profession. Experienced kitchen design professionals will tell you that the worst designs we see are from architects, contractors, engineers, and real estate professionals that arrogantly believe they know enough to design a kitchen, and need no help from an actual kitchen design professional. Unfortunately the general public is falling into the same over confident delusion due to the easy access of simplified kitchen related information. Nearly every design we get sent from people firmly believing that they have a “great kitchen design” and just need cabinet pricing is mistake riddled and outright laughable.

    Please do yourself a favor and don’t become another RTA DIY know-it-all and remodel your kitchen without researching the one thing you should be spending time on finding. IE a knowledgeable, experienced, and talented kitchen designer to work with. With the help of a good kitchen designer you can make the sensible choices in design and materials that add value to your home. Without professional help you project will almost certainly look great and make total sense TO YOU but in reality be a terrible substitute from what you could have had were you to get the help everyone needs.

    Here are three blogs to seriously consider if you believe I am exaggerating.

    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/ikea-effect-physiological-phenomenon-drives-kitchen-designers-crazy/

    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/why-you-need-a-professional-kitchen-designer/

    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/tale-two-kitchens-kitchen-renovation-smarts-knowbettas/

  75. Lauryn, December 31, 2019 at 11:48 pm:

    I was wondering if you have any information or feedback on J&K cabinets? They so far appear to be the best quality of rta I’ve seen, but wondering if there are comparable or better options. Thank you.

  76. pmcalary, December 29, 2019 at 2:46 pm:

    I know Starmark better so it is hard to compare. But the framed Holiday cabinetry spec book impressed us. I would think both lines were similar.

  77. pmcalary, December 29, 2019 at 2:43 pm:

    No I have never heard of these lines which is pretty hard to accomplish and not a good sign. Looks like they are from a small carpenter with a broken website. I’d steer clear.

  78. MIchelle P., December 28, 2019 at 2:53 pm:

    Truly appreciate the time and effort to maintain this information! (A compliment before a favor!) Have you heard of Dwelling, Nest and/or Europa? And if so, any opinions on quality/value?

    Thank you!

  79. Janelle, December 28, 2019 at 11:47 am:

    I’m considering cabinets by Holiday Kitchens. I notice you’re listing gives an A to Holiday Kitchens and a C to Holiday Frameless I assume due to construction? In general what is your opinion of Holiday kitchens and how do they compare with a line like Starmark. Thank you!

  80. pmcalary, December 24, 2019 at 7:59 am:

    Hi Josh,
    Thanks for the kind words. We will be releasing expanded and updated reviews soon after The Kitchen and Bath Industry Show KBIS in Las Vegas this January.
    We plan on reviewing over 100 cabinet lines. We are also formatting the old reviews to make them easier to read and more attractive.
    Happy Holidays too!

  81. Josh R., December 24, 2019 at 1:37 am:

    I have read your blogs which are chocked full of valuable information. THANK YOU for providing this service!

    Almost a year and a half has passed since the 2018 list was updated. Do you have an updated listing for 2019?

    Thanks in advance and Happy Holidays!

  82. Peter, December 18, 2019 at 10:35 am:

    Thanks Paul!

  83. pmcalary, December 18, 2019 at 10:18 am:

    Hi Peter,
    We get lots of these kind of comments. IE I know you recommend A or C but we want B or D so what would you pick. Our answer is always the same – we will not be forced to rubber stamp bad decisions.

    We would never sell either of your choices to one of our customers and were a family member of mine to consider your choices I would yell at them. There are an almost infinite number of sensible cabinet choices out there. If your “preferred vendor” only supplies poor quality materials I would re-examine why I am working with this company. And if my contractor recommended them, I would get some other input, as well as estimates, from other contractors.

  84. Peter, December 18, 2019 at 8:59 am:

    Hi Paul,
    This is a great resource- I wish we lived in your area! We have 30 year old frameless cabinets in the house we just moved into that seem to have 3/4″ particle board sides, and are renovating. We love the frameless look but the cabinet line our preferred vendor supplies is Woodland Cabinetry and their frameless sides are 1/2″ plywood. I know you recommend 3/4″ plywood for frameless cabinets, so my question is, which do you think is worse, 3/4″ particle board frameless or 1/2″ plywood frameless? 🙂

  85. Christy, December 12, 2019 at 6:28 pm:

    Thanks Paul! I appreciate all your help in answering all our questions. I have learned a lot by reading all your answers!

  86. Paul McAlary, December 12, 2019 at 3:55 pm:

    Hi Christy,
    Yes I agree. Even in my own kitchen that would have cost me nothing extra I didn’t bother to upgrade to 3/4″. Usually we would use 3/4″ sides on framed cabinets for a Home Economics classroom or when a customer really wanted the absolute best construction and price was no concern.

  87. Christy, December 12, 2019 at 9:33 am:

    Sorry, one more question. I have been told by multiple cabinet makers that 3/4” plywood is not really necessary for framed cabinets. Would you agree with this? Thanks again.

  88. Christy, December 12, 2019 at 9:28 am:

    Thanks so much for your quick response. I wish we were in your service area! I appreciate all the advice you give here.

  89. pmcalary, December 12, 2019 at 7:45 am:

    Hi Christy,
    I didn’t know Starmark had a 3/4″ upgrade. Kraftmaid does too although it’s expensive. With both their regular upgrades and 1/2″ plywood sides they are pretty equal construction wise. Starmark has some more creative colors IMO. However, if you like the look of the finish you are considering equally Kraftmaid is just as well made and probably a little less expensive.

    As always – the design itself is the most important thing, especially with equivalent cabinetry.

    Unfortunately most kitchen designers either aren’t very good or have difficulty dissuading their customers from poor design decisions. People often want what the want, and when they have little design ability themselves they often refuse to take direction from their more knowledgeable designers. Because of this the majority of the designs we see done elsewhere need a great deal of improvement.

  90. Christy, December 11, 2019 at 6:54 pm:

    Thank you for all the great information. I am trying to decide between KraftMaid Vantage and Starmark. Is there any significant difference between the two other than Starmark having 3/4” plywood? I feel more comfortable with the KraftMaid dealer than the Starmark. I appreciate your help.

  91. Carol, December 9, 2019 at 12:41 pm:

    Thank you for the great info Paul. It is very helpful!

  92. Paul McAlary, December 8, 2019 at 8:54 am:

    Hi Carol,
    We used to carry Green Forest. They are well made when all plywood. The issue we had with them was that they do not sell 36″ high wall cabinets. They sell 39″ high ones instead. Be careful 39″ wall cabinets should NOT be used for kitchens 96″ tall.

  93. Carol, December 7, 2019 at 4:44 pm:

    Paul, What do you think of Green Forest Heart & Home cabinetry?

  94. pmcalary, December 6, 2019 at 8:32 am:

    Hi Gayle,
    The lines you mention are all over the spectrum on quality and price level. You are comparing apples to bananas. You might want to call us on a Friday between 2 and 4 and talk to a designer to focus your cabinet search and get some design help. Usually when customers are all over the place on cabinetry their kitchen design needs just as much direction.

  95. pmcalary, December 6, 2019 at 8:26 am:

    Hi Carol,
    My guess is that this is Masterbrands either dipping their toe into the import market or creating a product line to compete with imports.
    We would give the cabinets a B+ for construction. I don’t know where they fall pricing wise but they are probably a good value.

  96. Carol, December 6, 2019 at 6:56 am:

    Do you have any info on Mantra Cabinets (Masterbrand)?
    I am told that the construction is good…..

  97. Gayle B., December 3, 2019 at 8:28 am:

    Correction, Custom Wood Products is out of St. Mary’s, KS

  98. Gayle B., December 3, 2019 at 8:09 am:

    We are getting prices on the following cabinet lines: Custom Wood Products out of Topeka, KS, Crestwood out of Salina, KS, Brookhaven (back in business), Signature Cabinets, Showplace, Crystal Cabinets. Custom Wood Products is a very well made framed line and all the others will be the frameless line. You rate all the lines but the two Kansas lines. It looks like all the prices will be pretty close on all lines. Since you only rate the top selling lines, I’m not sure if CWP is on your radar yet. Since you are working on your new 2020 rating list, have they made the top selling list yet? Know anything about them? Brookhaven, Signature, Crystal-your ratings very similar on these three. Any preference based on information that you might be privy to as in stability of company?

  99. Paul McAlary, November 23, 2019 at 11:19 pm:

    Jimmy,
    The problem here is that you don’t know how other cabinets are made or what features constitute better construction methods. For example you could easily have paid almost double what you probably spent and bought cabinets less well constructed. Particularly if you did not upgrade the cabinets construction. Or bought frameless cabinetry. You needed to do better research to understand what you were buying and what was available at what price before you bought a kitchen and before you decided to be so opinionated.

  100. Jimmy, November 23, 2019 at 6:30 pm:

    You’re right I should have known how picky I can be. I think dovetail joints for drawers are acceptable when using plywood as long as care is taken. When used along the edge of a panel the outer layers of the veneer are removed resulting in a weak joint. The reason I would prefer the back panel to be full height is to strengthen the end panels at the base. If not then each end panel is a 1/4″ thick for the last 3/4″ of the panel. I purchased these cabinets because I read somewhere that if you are getting a simple white shaker door you need not waste money on higher end lines – just make sure the boxes are well designed. I posted more pictures and could have posted many more.

Leave a comment


*

  Reviews for Main Line Kitchen Design

59 customer reviews

Average rating:5

 
  Terrific! Highly...
I am out of Paul's service area, but needed help with my...
by Donna D on 05/30/2020
  Very pleased with...
Happy with the design choices we were given. Lauren was...
by Melissa C on 04/09/2020
  Friendly,...
Main Line Kitchen Design did a great job for us! We were...
by Sean and Jamie R on 04/06/2020
More Verified Reviews

Wordpress Development and PA SEO by IntuitSolutions