Main Line Kitchen Design
Call us at 610-510-2024

slide3

Below is our comprehensive list of the top selling cabinet manufacturers in the United States

NOTE: The new 2021 Comprehensive Cabinet Rankings are now available Click Here

Please go to our home page in the tabs above to learn more about our company if you are within our service area.

The top selling cabinet manufacturers in the United States and how they rank for construction quality and for value considering the price point of each cabinet line. Price point is rated from 1 to 6 with 6 being the most expensive cabinetry on the market.

We rate cabinetry assuming each line is upgraded to the top level of construction available. A grade of A for construction quality will not be equal across different price levels, as the more expensive price point cabinets will have far nicer finishes and construction options.

home
722-Argyle-Ave

The value grade we give is not a rating about the quality of the cabinetry but a rating of how good an investment a cabinet line is considering it’s cost. For example, many of the most expensive well made cabinet lines receive lover marks on value even though as designers we think the cabinetry is the best in it’s class. These lines receive lower grades on value simply because there are competitors offering the same quality at slightly lower prices.

Note: The highest grade for Quality in any frameless European style cabinet line is a B. While frameless cabinetry is easier to access and is sleeker looking, it is also less durable than the best made framed cabinetry.

Cabinet Lines
Cabinet line
Price level 1-6     Quality     Value
6 Square 2 B+ B+
American Woodmark 3 B C+
Aristocraft 2 C C
Bertch 4 A A-
Bishop 4 A A-
Bishop Frameless 5 B B+
Bremtown 6 A+ C
Brighton 4 A A+
Brookhaven Closed Closed A B
Cabico 4 B B
Candlelight 4 A A
Canyon Creek 3 B B
CNC 1 B+ A
Collier 5 A B-
Crystal 5 A+ A
Decora 4 A A
Design-Craft 4 B B
Diamond 4 B B
Durasupreme 5 B+ B
Durasupreme frameless 3 C C
(Omega)Dynasty Frameless 4 B C
(Omega)Dynasty Pinnacle Framed 5 A B
Fabuwood 2 A A
Fabuwood Frameless 3 B A+
Fieldstone 4 A B+
Grabill 6 A+ B
Haas 3 B B
Hanssem 1 B+ B
Homecrest 3 B+ B
IKEA (frameless) 1 C C
Innermost framelss 3 B B
Kabinart 3 D D
Kemper 3 B C
Kitchencraft Frameless 3 C B
Kith 3 B+ C+
Kountry Kraft framed 6 A B
Kountry Kraft frameless 6 B B
Kraftmaid 4 B+ A
Legacy 3 B+ C-
LifeArt 1 C+ A
Marsh 2 B+ B
Medallion 5 B+ C+
Merillat 2 C D
Mid Continent 2 C C
Mouser 5 A A-
Mouser Frameless 5 B A
Ovation 4 B C
Plain and Fancy 6 A B
Poggenpohl frameless 6 B C
QuakerMaid frameless 4 B B
Rutt 6 A+ A
Schrock 3 B B
Schuler 5 B+ C+
Shenandoah 3 B C+
Shiloh 4 C C
Showplace 3 B+ B-
Solid Wood Cabinets 1 A A
Starmark 4 A B+
Stylecraft 6 A+ B+
Thomasville* 4 B- C-
Timberlake 3 B C+
Ultracraft Frameless 2 C C
Village 5 A A
Waypoint 2 B B
Wellborn 4 A A
Wellsford 5 A+ A+
Wolf 1 B+ B+
Woodharbor 4 B+ C
Woodmode Closed Closed A A-
Yorktowne 3 C D

* Note: Home Depot can change who manufactures this line although Masterbrands has been
manufacturing the line under the Thomasville name for over ten years.

Remember that choosing the designer, the cabinet dealer, and the installer you are working with is just as important as the cabinet line.

Call in to our recorded Podcast 2-4 pm Fridays Eastern Standard Time to ask cabinetry and design questions. Have designs ready to email for layout advice. Call 610-500-4071

Are you looking for more general reviews of cabinetry from 2015 explaining types of cabinetry construction?

Types of cabinetry construction

For those sensitive to the fumes new cabinetry can give off:

Learn more

Hoping you make all the right choices…and of course…Bon Appetit!

Main Line Kitchen Design

Paul, John, Stacia, Ed, Tom, and Julie

100 Comments

  1. Dennie Miller, July 10, 2018 at 8:26 pm:

    Excellent blog and great job on the reviews. I am in Baltimore, MD and looking for quality lower price point cabinets for a new kitchen. How do 21 Century cabinets compare to Fabuwood and Wolf cabinets with respect to finish and style? Thanks.

  2. pmcalary, July 9, 2018 at 1:18 pm:

    If you call on Fridays between 2pm and 4pm one of our designers can see if they can find a local dealer for you.

  3. Doug Eggemeyer, July 8, 2018 at 10:44 pm:

    Can you recommend a designer and the St Louis area? We were considering American Woodmark and Waypoint, they are made by the same company, are they the same cabinets? Is Koch a decent brand. If we upgrade the American Woodmark cabinets to all plywood construction, it is still missing the I-beam. Is this major?

  4. pmcalary, July 8, 2018 at 5:00 pm:

    Both lines need to be upgraded to all plywood construction. And both these lines and the door style and the wood species selections are not budget friendly.

  5. M Paulsen, July 8, 2018 at 12:06 pm:

    I didn’t have time to read through all the comments to find my answer…But, we are on a strict budget, but want quality;based on online reviews, we are looking at the Bertch Marketplace line (an alder raised panel) or the Medallion cabinets carried by Menards(cherry raised panel). Do you prefer or recommend one over another?

  6. pmcalary, July 1, 2018 at 8:15 am:

    We are just about to post an updated 2018 cabinet review for the most popular cabinet lines in the United States but unfortunately most of these Canadian lines are still not listed. However there are some generalizations you can make bout Canadian lines.

    Most Canadian lines are European style frameless cabinet construction and so the best they can rate in our system for construction quality is a B.

    Canadian lines are not the bargains that lower priced (framed and frameless) US lines with parts are made in Asia can be. So the best they will usually do on Value is a B. Except possibly for the very high end lines.

    Since they are more expensive than the those US/Asian Import lines Canadian pricing for cabinetry usually falls between a 3 and a 6 on our price point scale.

    The Canadian lines Cabico and Kountry Kraft do well in our ratings so you could compare any other Canadian line to them for construction quality and value. The best you will do is equal these Canadian lines for ratings in framed and Frameless construction.

  7. Lisa Siglag, June 30, 2018 at 12:26 pm:

    I just sent in a question, but I forgot to ask about LaurierMax /Cuisimax. I’d love to hear your thoughts on the Canadian cabinet companies. Thank you for this great forum.

  8. Lisa Siglag, June 30, 2018 at 12:25 pm:

    I just tried to ask about the Canadian brands–Urban Effects, Cabico, Mirallis and North American Cabinets. I forgot to ask about LaurierMax /Cuisimax. I’d love to hear your thoughts on these. Thank you for this great forum.

  9. Lisa Siglag, June 30, 2018 at 11:58 am:

    Paul–Thank you for all this amazing information. I was wondering what you thought about the Canadian products. I’d love to know your opinion of the following companies:
    North American Cabinets
    Miralis
    Urban Effects
    Cabico

    Thank you for your help.

  10. pmcalary, June 28, 2018 at 7:22 am:

    Hi Robin,
    I’m going to combine both your questions and assume you mean Homecrest, Shenandoah or Kraftmaid?
    Upgraded these three lines are all well made. The answer is whichever lines color and style you like best, and that can successfully do the best design. Homecrest and Shenandoah will be about 20% less than Kraftmaid. You will have more customization, more door styles, more colors and more cabinet sizes and configurations available in Kraftmaid. That’s WHY they are more expensive for the most part.

    Of course like most consumers you are focused focused on quality which is not in any way tied to price. The least expensive cabinet line we carry Fabuwood is actually better constructed than any of these lines unless they are upgraded and then they are all equal in my opinion. Fabuwood is 20 to 40% less than these lines. The reason the three you ask about are more expensive is that they offer more choices, different species of wood, and other things you are almost certainly not utilizing with grey cabinets and a home center designer.

    Your design is far more important than any choice here. Most people falsely believe their design can’t be very different and is good as is. Since any design we are sent is absolutely terrible over 90% of the time and these three lines upgraded are fine it is very likely that you need to stop worrying about cabinet quality and start worrying about finding a better kitchen designer.

    If you call us on a Friday between 2pm and 4pm one of us can review your design. We can tell you what the biggest issues are. To fix those issues you will have to find a good local designer but at least you will better focused on the big picture.

  11. Robin, June 27, 2018 at 9:42 pm:

    Doing a kitchen remodel. Want to use Gray cabinets. So I use Homecraft, Shenandoah or Kraftmaid?

  12. Robin, June 27, 2018 at 9:37 pm:

    Doing new kitchen in painted cabinets. Should I go with Home crest, Shenandoah or Craft made?

  13. pmcalary, June 26, 2018 at 12:30 pm:

    Unfortunately many customer complaints are based on not understanding what they are buying. I love Kraftmaid but their finish is no more durable than Schuler and not as nice looking. All painted finishes are more easily subject to wear. The same finish will stand up better in a bathroom or laundry room where conditions are less stressful than a kitchen.

    This is one of the issues with buying cabinets at home centers. Customers are not informed about the properties of the products they buy and the designs they get are usually amateurish because the designers are beginners.

  14. D. Hoffman, June 26, 2018 at 11:41 am:

    We installed Schuler Cabinets from Lowes and I do NOT recommend them. They are beautiful to look at when installed and function well but the finish doesn’t hold up over time. After just a few years, the finish is completely wearing off in areas. The areas are mainly around the handles and near the floor. They looked so bad that when I posted a few photos on the company’s Facebook page, they contacted me to replace the worst worn out fronts and gave me a free touch up kit (the touch ups don’t last long).

    While I’m grateful for their response, it doesn’t excuse the poor quality. My much cheaper cabinets (Kraftmaid) that I installed in my bathrooms and laundry have NO sign of wear on the finish at all. I wish I would have saved the money and installed the cheaper ones in my kitchen too.

  15. pmcalary, June 24, 2018 at 5:18 pm:

    Cabinets look well constructed and would get a B+ for construction on our rating system. Drawer box is 5/8″ by the way. There is no way to rate their pricing without floor plan.

  16. pmcalary, June 24, 2018 at 5:12 pm:

    Lindsay,
    I’m not a fan of Century cabinets. And my question would be since Century is only sold in our service area and we get 5 star reviews on Google, Yahoo, Houzz, Angie’s List, Yelp etc and Century gets poor reviews why are you working with them. And why are you using our web site as a reference to work with our competitors. We are less expensive for quality cabinetry than Century and our designers are more experienced.

  17. Robert A., June 23, 2018 at 11:58 pm:

    Hi. I’m considering Signature Custom Cabinets Select line (their lowest cost line). Specifications include:

    Cabinet sides: 1/2″ plywood
    Cabinet tops: 1/2″ plywood
    Cabinet bottoms: 1/2″ plywood
    Cabinet backs: 1/4″ plywood with 3/4″ solid wood hanger rail top & bottom
    Shelves: 3/4″ plywood
    Drawer box: Lenga, 3/8″ dovetailed with 1/4″ bottom
    Drawer slides: Soft close full extension concealed under-mount

    Full specifications can be found on page 11 here:
    http://www.signaturecab.com/DealerNet/ProductManual/FramedManual.pdf

    http://www.signaturecustomcabinetry.com/portfolio/kitchen/

    The estimated cost of just the cabinets through the dealer (a dedicated and respected kitchen design firm) is $18,000-20,000.

    Based on this information would it be possible to obtain your opinion of the price level, quality and value of these cabinets? Thank you.

  18. Lindsey, June 22, 2018 at 10:02 pm:

    Do you know much or recommend Century Cabinets? What brands are they comparable to?

  19. pmcalary, June 22, 2018 at 4:07 pm:

    Homecrest is a better constructed cabinet specifics you can get into detail with the designer you hire to work with you.

  20. Janet, June 22, 2018 at 3:03 pm:

    We are downsizing and have a $22,000 cabinetry budget. I am looking at Aristokraft and Homecrest painted shaker style cabinets in a cream color.. Both are painted maple, plywood and dovetail. Your website rates Homecrest higher. Could you please provide me with more information regarding your rating so I can make the best decision.

  21. pmcalary, June 22, 2018 at 8:51 am:

    Kith is pretty well constructed. Our only issue with Kith is that the pricing customers quoted to us were higher than other lines we liked better. Tru cabinetry we couldn’t find specs on the construction so we didn’t rate them in 2017. However, I just found specs on line and they look about equal to Kith. I have no idea were they price out compared to each other.

  22. Jason, June 22, 2018 at 8:38 am:

    Paul- great information you have shared here- Curious on your thoughts of Tru Cabinetry vs Kith. Thanks

  23. Jason, June 21, 2018 at 9:35 pm:

    Hi Paul- great information you offer here. Curious on your thoughts Tru Cabinetry vs. Kith

  24. pmcalary, June 20, 2018 at 11:48 am:

    Goebelwood looks like an expensive custom Frameless line and CNC is very inexpensive framed line. Without knowing at what line ans style your original cabinets are I can’t comment other than mentioning that adding an Island to an existing kitchen often makes the space too tight. Be careful not to leave less than 42″ between the Island countertop and the other countertops, appliances and walls.

  25. ND, June 20, 2018 at 10:29 am:

    Hi,
    Your rating list is an incredible resource! I am wondering if you are familiar with Goebelwood industries in Folsom, PA. We are adding an island and a bit of cabinetry to an existing kitchen. The other option we are looking at is CNC Fashion line. It is a busy kitchen, so we need something durable.
    Thanks so much!

  26. pmcalary, June 18, 2018 at 8:33 am:

    We recommend these dealers in your area:
    South Atlantic

    Best Kitchen and Bath Baltimore MD http://bestkitchenandbath.com/cabinets/ 410-762-4329

    KBR Kitchen and Bath Bethesda MD https://www.kbrkitchenandbath.com/ 724-471-4890

    Virginia Kitchen and Bath Herndon VA https://www.virginiakitchenandbath.com/ 703 594-9004

    MidSouth Building Suppy Alexandria, Fairfax and Richmond VA

    http://www.msbs.net/Home.aspx 703-940-1271

    B&T Kitchens and Baths Virginia Beach, Norfolk VA http://www.bandtkitchens.com/ 757-502-8625

    Creative Kitchens Charleston WV http://www.creativekitchens.com/ 3049250450

    While most will not carry Fabuwood working with a competent kitchen designer is more important than the cabinet line. In Stock Cabinets carries Fabuwood in your area but we don’t believe working with less experienced designers is a good idea.

  27. pmcalary, June 16, 2018 at 11:18 am:

    Hi Ellen,
    We posted this blog rating cabinetry to be a helpful resource, but I fear we are feeding the beast that kills kitchens.

    Customers spending inordinate amounts of time researching cabinetry only to help them make all their decisions themselves almost guarantees them wasting time and money.

    When I want my transmission repaired I don’t research who makes the best transmissions and how to install them. I do research to find a reasonably priced garage with top notch mechanics to do the repairs.

    Most non professionals believe that their present kitchen design is fine and that changing it will cost too much money. The opposite is true. So much missinformation is given out on HGTV shows that most of what homeowners believe about kitchen renovations is false.

    Almost no kitchen design a customer is replacing can’t be improved, and changing the design has very little impact on what you spend. Getting a particular color cabinet or door style, or a quartz countertop instead of a lower level granite top, can add several thousand dollars to a kitchen renovation. Moving a sink, gas line, doorway, removing a load bearing wall, or removing the soffits over cabinets rarely adds 5% to the cost of the overall kitchen renovation and can be the difference between prospective buyers loving your kitchen or wanting to rip it right out after closing. Getting the best kitchen design possible is what will sell your home for many thousands more and all the other choices you make pale in comparison.

    Accepting that you are not qualified to judge how your kitchen can be improved is the first step to spending your money wisely. This may sound presumptuous but it is not. Why people accept that lawyers, accountants, mechanics and other professionals know more than they do about their areas of expertise, but don’t think this applies to an expensive kitchen renovation is what’s foolishly presumptuous.

    Seek out a good professional kitchen designer’s help at respected and not overpriced local cabinet dealer. Research this FIRST!

    The designer who you find assuming you pick well will educate you on what sensible cabinet choices and designs you should consider. This is what kitchen designers do and this is what will make the money you spend on your renovation well spent.

  28. Ellen H., June 16, 2018 at 9:14 am:

    We’re planning an update to our 16 year old kitchen in preparation of down-sizing in the next 5-10 years. I don’t want to break the piggy bank, but want to get good quality cabinets that will look great when we decide to sell. Our kitchen is designed very well, so we will not change the layout. Here are my questions:

    1. We’re looking at Fabuwood, JSI, and Waypoint cabinets. Is there be a huge difference in price/quality between these manufacturers? I understand that Waypoint is made not far from where we live, so supporting local business would be satisfying, but not if the product isn’t as well made as the other companies.

    2. I initially wanted a pale grey painted cabinet, but in reading the posts here, I’m worried that the painted cabinets won’t stand the test of time. I don’t want to replace my cabinets now only to have them need extensive repairs or repainting when we decide to sell our house. Our kids are grown, so it’s just my husband and I and I don’t expect we’ll be too hard on our new cabinets. However, would you recommend that we chose a stain over painted cabinet considering our plans to sell the house in 5-10 years?

  29. hungryjack, June 13, 2018 at 10:03 am:

    Great content. Do you know which dealers sell Fabuwood cabinets in the Northern Virginia region? I filled out their online form but havent heard back yet. Thanks!

  30. pmcalary, June 12, 2018 at 10:04 am:

    Fabuwood holds up as well as the more expensive lines. That being said – All painted finishes are easily scratched and dinged and Fabuwood like most inexpensive lines has a little more shipping damage than the expensive lines. A responsible Fabuwood dealer will replace anything damaged which hopefully is just a door or two. And we sometimes send out furniture refinishers to touch up a scratched cabinet if replacing it would hold up a job. This happens in the expensive custom lines too. Just less often.

  31. pmcalary, June 12, 2018 at 9:58 am:

    Hi Brian,
    Here is our complete list of recommended dealers. One is in Va Beach:

    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/recommended-kitchen-designers-cabinet-dealers-outside-service-area/

  32. Riki, June 11, 2018 at 1:22 pm:

    Hi there. Really found your blog helpful. You say it as it is and don’t sugar coat. Question for you – I think I’m moving ahead with fabuwood cabinets. Just wondering if you’ve seen how they hold up to the test of time – as my Kitchen is heavily used. We aren’t rough but do spend a lot of time in the kitchen and do a lot of cooking. I liked the hardware it uses and the price point worked for me – but that being said – the construction costs of this project are high – so whereas I may not be spending relatively a lot on the cabinets – I do need to make sure they hold up.
    Thanks in advanve. It is much appreciated.

  33. Brian, June 9, 2018 at 5:18 pm:

    Hello, I am in the VA Beach, Virginia area and cannot find a good KD. Can you recommend one please?

  34. pmcalary, June 9, 2018 at 9:08 am:

    Unfortunately we are very busy and are still only halfway done. I’m hoping by July 4th.
    We answer questions Fridays 2 to 4 pm so if you have a line you want us to examine we can look it up then.

  35. pmcalary, June 9, 2018 at 9:06 am:

    Unfortunately we are very busy and are still only halfway done. I’m hoping by July 4th.

  36. Lucy, June 9, 2018 at 8:53 am:

    Paul, I am looking forward to your 2018 updated Kitchen Cabinet Rankings. When will this be available? I know you originally mentioned April. Thanks!

  37. Patrick, June 9, 2018 at 8:34 am:

    Hi Paul, When will your 2018 ratings be available?

  38. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:37 pm:

    KCMA certification is worthless since it is from the cabinet makes trade association. Every line is certified. Carb Compliance is a real rating since it was instituted by the state of California. It only addresses off gassing though. That’s really why we started reviewing cabinets ourselves.

  39. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:33 pm:

    I would not select a kitchen designer recommended by a contractor unless they were a reputable independent showroom or home center. I worry that the contractor is getting a kick back. Choose an independent showroom or dealer and have the contractors bid the job without the cabinets included.

  40. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:28 pm:

    Gloria,
    You are shopping the least expensive line and want customization, great customer service, and think you know everything. We wrote a blog about difficult customers like you. It was re-posted by dealers across the world and says it all:

    https://www.mainlinekitchendesign.com/general/give-personality-test-kitchen-customers/

  41. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:21 pm:

    Yes upgrade it’s silly not to.

  42. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:21 pm:

    Don’t know the last two. Candlelight is custom very high end cabinetry so more beautiful that Kraftmaid and much more expensive. Both are well made.

  43. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:17 pm:

    I haven’t heard this. Southern cabinet makers often have quality control issues, but Wellborn was the exception to the rule in the past. The builder is not reliable only because he isn’t ordering direct. The KD’s complaints are troublesome. If they are both from the same company it could be their ordering process and not Wellborn. One of our designers was happy with Wellborn up to 2 years ago.

  44. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:13 pm:

    Yes upgrade. It’s the first thing a home buyer checks for. It won’t cost too much.

  45. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:09 pm:

    Wolf is a contractor priced line. But it is also well built. Koch is a very nice line but very expensive. They are apples and oranges. The 5 – 8 year comment makes me think this guy is a dishonest and trying to upgrade you for his own profit.

  46. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:05 pm:

    Mouser and Starmark are expensive. Wolf while well made is one of the cheapest lines.

  47. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:04 pm:

    All inexpensive. Maybe JSI of the three.

  48. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 3:04 pm:

    Brookhaven is a made by Woodmode and is not frameless. Frameless is less durable than better made framed cabinetry so not a step down. Designing your own kitchen is another mistake. And glazing is not contemporary. Get help.

  49. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 2:58 pm:

    They are creeping up closer to a higher ranking but there are better less expensive lines. They are not a good value.

  50. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 2:56 pm:

    Ever-core is MDF doors. The paint looks great but it’s easily damaged and not a good idea for people rough on things

  51. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 2:54 pm:

    Yes and it’s a smart idea. You want one person responsible for construction. Otherwise prepare for finger pointing.

  52. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 2:51 pm:

    Read what we consider well made and they do not meet those requirements.

  53. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 2:42 pm:

    Huge difference here. Splurging on quartz tops or high end appliances with Solid wood cabinets is a stretch. I’m spend a little more for Fabuwood or another slight higher end line.

  54. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 2:40 pm:

    Not Really. We look up things for people outside our area Fridays 2-4

  55. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 2:39 pm:

    Not a good idea. There are alternatives like dealers that sell Fabuwood or J&K that will be slightly more and you will get a professional to work with.

  56. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 2:33 pm:

    They are a good line on a budget. Upgrade to plywood box. Kraftmaid at Lowes will be about 20% more

  57. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 2:26 pm:

    Don’t know those lines

  58. pmcalary, June 7, 2018 at 2:26 pm:

    Yes they are expensive custom cabinets

  59. Simmons Kathleen, June 3, 2018 at 10:48 pm:

    Oh, are you familiar with Plato cabinets?

  60. Simmons Kathleen, June 3, 2018 at 10:46 pm:

    I live in AZ and am looking at frameless cabinets for a kitchen redo. Do you know anything about Belmont cabinets out of WA? I think their 1600 line is not good enough, but their 1900 series looks good. Any thoughts? I had a gorgeous kitchen using Meson’s from Italy and was entirely won over with frameless and tons of drawers and drawers within drawers. I also love metal drawer interiors.

  61. Linda, June 2, 2018 at 1:19 am:

    Hello, First, what a great website. A true gem indeed. I am in Chicago and due to water damage, our kitchen cabinets need to be replaced. A contractor suggested an Amish line of cabinets Plank and Son Woodworking in Arthur IL, but insurance company has deemed too expensive. Second choice from contractor is Remodelers Mart. Current cabinets were installed in 1979, oak cabinets when house was built. I’ve written down all the basic minimums for a good quality cabinet that you have posted – thank you. Are there any cabinets in my area that you would recommend? Also, what is your opinion on the two that I have listed. Just trying to find the best option to replace with limited time and money. I wish I lived in your area. Many thanks.

  62. Jeanie, May 31, 2018 at 4:53 pm:

    I am redoing my kitchen. The salesman at Lowes recommended Shenandoah cabinets when I told him I wanted good quality cabinets. He did not mention other brands. It made me wonder why.

  63. Magnolia, May 30, 2018 at 9:32 am:

    What an outstanding site I have stumbled on here detailed information has been tremendously helpful. I’m considering purchasing cabinets from Cabinets To Go but having a difficult time finding legitimate reviews. Are you familiar with this product in can you give me any insight? I’m considering their white finished cabinetry for a full kitchen remodel. Price is exceptionally good compared to big box stores. I’m concerned it could be a get what you pay for scenario. The display product seems to be of good quality and decent workmanship. In concerned the deliver product may not be equivalent. Any insight would be most greatly appreciated. Thank you

  64. Mreilly, May 29, 2018 at 11:46 pm:

    Hello Paul, are you familiar with Woodmasters or Signature?

  65. Brigid, May 29, 2018 at 9:13 am:

    We are considering Kraftmaid and Solid Wood Cabinets. The price that Solid Wood has given us is great, and we’d be able to get the cabinets and quartz countertop for about $1000 less than Kraftmaid cabinets alone. However, I’m concerned about the long-term durability of Solid Wood. We are getting white cabinets, and durability of both the finish and the cabinets themselves is my biggest concern. I have read your positive reviews of Solid Wood, but am wondering if the good reviews are based on the quality for the price point – meaning that they are good quality for that price, but since they are cheaper, they naturally won’t last as long or hold up as well. Your thoughts would be appreciated!

  66. Brigid, May 29, 2018 at 9:00 am:

    We are considering Kraftmaid and Solid Wood Cabinets. I’m skeptical about the long-term durability of Solid Wood Cabinet’s products, but the price is great. We can get the cabinets and quartz countertop for about $1000 less than Kraftmaid cabinets alone. After reading your reviews, I understand that Solid Wood seems to be a good option for the price point, but I’m wondering if Kraftmaid would be the better long-term investment. We’re getting white cabinets, and durability is my biggest concern. Would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you!

  67. Ellie, May 24, 2018 at 5:00 pm:

    Hi, am considering Shiloh white shaker, but then saw you gave them 2 C grades in your review. Would you please let me know why?

    Thank you.

  68. Susan J, May 19, 2018 at 8:40 pm:

    Have visited the local Kraftmaid dealer and found a cabinet style that I like. The dealer does kitchen design, orders the cabinets, but does not do the cabinet installation. That is left up to the individual’s contractor. Is that “normal”? Thank you.

  69. Diane, May 18, 2018 at 2:44 pm:

    I am interested in Kraftmaid cabinets. I can’t decide
    if I want to purchase EverCore fronts or Maple painted in Dove White. Do you have any knowledge on EverCore?
    Other than not seeing the seams I don’t know if they will seem “cheap” since it is some type of pressed material.

  70. Terry, May 18, 2018 at 1:23 pm:

    Your ranking list shows Merilatt ranked significantly below Kraftmaid. I’m considering purchase of Merillat “Masterpiece” series cabinets and from the specs they appear to be constructed from same components as “Kraftmaid” ? Is it possible that you based your Merillat ranking on their entry level “Classic” series? How would you rank Merillat ” Masterpiece” series compared to Kraftmaid? Thanks for any info you can provide.

  71. Terry, May 17, 2018 at 9:20 pm:

    Your ranking of “Merillat” is considerably lower overall than “Kraftmaid”, yet the construction components of the Merillat “Masterpiece” line and the Standard line of Kraftmaid appear to be very similar, if not the same? Even finish color names are the same. And since both are owned by Masco, I’m confused as to how your rankings of the two could be so different?

  72. Regina Lacoff, May 17, 2018 at 4:07 pm:

    Sorry, I meant to ask, what is your take on this.

  73. Regina Lacoff, May 17, 2018 at 3:31 pm:

    Hello,
    We are building a new home in Houston, TX with Design Tech Homes, they are using Fabuwood exclusively. I noticed that Fabuwood are framed cabinets. In our current home we have Brookhaven, which are frameless. For me to go from frameless to framed is kind of step down, and I am not sure, what to do. Also, after reading your comments, I have a concern, that I didn’t get to work with the designer, in fact I was the one who designed my kitchen. And last, but not the least, the only color I like is “blanc”, but it comes with antique bronzing, which I am not sure about, because it has traditional look but I like everything more contemporary. Thank you.

  74. John P, May 16, 2018 at 10:34 am:

    Hi Paul,

    Are you familiar with Forevermark, Cubitac and JSI? How do they compare to others?

    Thanks!

  75. Eileen, May 15, 2018 at 9:36 am:

    I am looking for a shaker style vanity (bathroom remodel project). We are looking for all plywood construction. I see some shaker doors are solid wood and some are veneer. In the wood stain I am looking for, Woodmark has the shaker door in a veneer finish. Mouser Centra has the shaker door using solid wood construction. Is there much difference in durability between solid wood vs veneer (for the cabinet door)? I already see that I need to upgrade the Mouser cabinet to use plywood construction since that is not standard.

    On a separate note, if I have a 60 inch vanity between two existing side walls (with a total of a 1/2” spacer on one side right now), should I get the vanity in 3 pieces to make it easier to install or can I get away with just buying one 60 inch vanity (and using spaces on one or both sides)?

    Lastly, is it better to buy Mouser Centra or Starmark over Wolf (which is much cheaper at our local wholesaler)?

  76. Andrea, May 14, 2018 at 2:46 pm:

    We are just starting to gather bids on our kitchen and bath remodel and had a contractor recommend Wolf Cabinets because they’re solid wood and “affordable.” When I called a local Wolf dealer,who is a kitchen contractor in business for 33 years, they told me Wolf cabinets are contractor grade (even though made of solid wood & have too many issues with them and have a 5-8 year life span at most) The 33 year kitchen contractor recommended I look at Koch Cabinetry as a better product for price comparison, but I don’t see them on your list. Any info on Koch Cabinets?

  77. Joshua Erez, May 14, 2018 at 10:44 am:

    If using CNC, is it a “must” to upgrade to the Blum hinges and hardware, or are the standard CNC materials sufficient quality? Is there are significant price increase to upgrade to Blum?

  78. mfauss, May 14, 2018 at 7:50 am:

    Wellborn question – I have spoken to two KDs and one builder that dropped Wellborn due to quality issues. Specifically Wellborn could not get orders straight for months at a time (regularly) and cabinets damaged from shipping and factory quality control. Are you familar with these issues?

  79. Susan J, May 13, 2018 at 3:26 pm:

    Paul,
    How does the Kraftmaid Vantage line compare with the Candlelight brand of cabinets? Also do you have any thoughts on Marquis or Woodland brands of cabinets. Thanks.

  80. Jen, May 13, 2018 at 8:32 am:

    If using CNC Cabinets, is it an absolute must to upgrade to Blum hinges and hardware or do the standard components meet your minimum requirements as well?

  81. Gloria, May 11, 2018 at 3:08 pm:

    I tried purchasing from solidwood cabinets based on your reviews. They have the worst designers and customer service. The designers just know how to do a computer 3D design that anyone with any computer skills can use the same program that all designers use. They have no creativity and do not use any insights to try to make a kitchen efficient or appealing. They just pop in spacers here and there to fill gaps. This reduces your usable space! ! Also, be aware of their false advertising on their website. Indeed BBB has sent them a notice about their false advertising!!! https://www.bbb.org/washington-dc-eastern-pa/business-reviews/cabinets/the-solid-wood-cabinet-company-llc-in-levittown-pa-235989796

  82. Matt Zory, May 11, 2018 at 8:02 am:

    Holy cow…what a great resource you’ve created here! I’m in a quandary and would love your input. We’ve received several design ideas from several certified KD’s in conjunction with their contractors. The KD whose design we like best (and liked her too) uses only Aspect and Shiloh. I’m a little uncertain about the look of the finishes on those lines and looking at your ratings above…not the best choice perhaps. What compounds the issue is we have 25 or 30 year old Starmark cherry cabinets now that to my amateur eye have an awesome finish. Do we go with the KD and Aspect/Shiloh? Or, pay her for her time and take the design elsewhere or…? You get the picture. Really like her contractor too BTW!

  83. Susan Johnson, May 10, 2018 at 10:20 pm:

    Are you familiar with the Marquis, Koch, or Woodland brands of cabinets? Thank you.

  84. Scott, May 9, 2018 at 12:45 pm:

    Great site, thanks for such useful info. I am way out of your area, and it’s awesome that you share like this!

    I’ve recently seen a cabinet claiming “KCMA certification for ANSI A161.1”. Now that cabinet is (according to the web site) pretty well built. But I’m wondering if that certification is actually something useful to look for as an indicator that a cabinet is at least good enough, or just a marketing gimmick which only excludes the lowest level of most awful crap?

  85. Kim, May 2, 2018 at 1:15 pm:

    Thanks – yes, about 20% less than Kraftmaid, which is why we’re considering. We don’t want to give up quality, but if it’s just as well made, we think the price is right! Our dealer seems to think it’s a good option so we’re going to take a look at a showroom set. Appreciate your input.

  86. pmcalary, May 2, 2018 at 12:46 pm:

    I didn’t know much about Tru cabinetry so I Googled their specifications. They look pretty well made. They’d get probably a B+ or A- for construction and I assume they are pretty reasonable but I wouldn’t know how to grade them on price.

  87. Kim, May 2, 2018 at 11:57 am:

    Know anything about the quality of Tru Cabinetry? We are working with a designer recommended by you in our area and they’ve recently had good luck with this line/are recommending it more than others now. https://www.trucabinetry.com/

  88. Hana, April 27, 2018 at 9:51 am:

    Thank you, Paul for your quick responses. Sorry about the repetition!

  89. Hana, April 27, 2018 at 9:43 am:

    How does Green Forest compare to Fabuwood as far as quality, service, finishes, and cost?
    What score would each receive on your rating?
    When will your 2018 ratings be available?
    Is there a difference in cost between Fabuwood Nexus and Galaxy?

  90. pmcalary, April 27, 2018 at 9:43 am:

    They are both well made. Fabuwood would get an A for construction. Considering the pricepoint I would give Green Forest an A+. It is the best made inexpensive cabinet on the market IMO. However the green forest door styles and finishes while durable are not as stylish as Fabuwood’s. And they do not make a 36″ high wall cabinets or 90″ tall cabinets which are the sizes most homes would require.Unfortunately Green Forest is behind the times on style and function. They are just ahead of the curve on construction quality.

  91. pmcalary, April 27, 2018 at 9:37 am:

    Galaxy is more popular but partly because it is 18% less expensive than Nexus.
    Espresso is more popular than chestnut but again partly because of the cost.

  92. pmcalary, April 27, 2018 at 9:34 am:

    Starmark makes 34 1/2″ high vanities. This is now the standard height except in kids baths. The lower height would be inappropriate for an adult bathroom.

  93. Joan, April 27, 2018 at 9:01 am:

    What height do you recommend for bathroom vanities. It seems many are going to 36”. I am looking at Starmark and I heard they may be 31.5 w/o granite. Will that look dated.

  94. Hana, April 27, 2018 at 8:54 am:

    Which Fabuwood Frost painted style is more popular, Galaxy or Nexus?
    Which stain is more popular Expesso or Chestnut?

  95. Hana, April 27, 2018 at 8:49 am:

    Hi, Paul,
    How does Green Forest compare to Fabuwood as far as quality, finish, service, and cost? What grades would you give each one for 2018? Which one would you recommend more?
    Do you have your 2018 ratings yet?

  96. pmcalary, April 26, 2018 at 9:20 am:

    Mouser does not say on their web site how thick the back is on the Centra cabinet line which makes us worry. This is the weakest point on their well constructed Premier upgraded to plywood line being only 3/8 inch thick. We actually gave them a pass they normally would have only recieved a B+ for construction but the rest of their box made up for it. If the Centra back is thinner than 3/8″ then I wouldn’t recommend them. If it is 3/8 for Centra I’d rate Mouser Centra a B+ for construction and the same for value.

  97. Jack, April 26, 2018 at 12:05 am:

    Do you know the Mouser brand well — specifically their Centra series. I met with a kitchen person locally who really liked them. His opinion was they were a great value. Do you have any thoughts on their quality and how they hold up over time? Thanks much.

  98. pmcalary, April 25, 2018 at 2:52 pm:

    Sorry I don’t know the Choice. They look OK but have no specs online.

  99. KAREN DYSER, April 25, 2018 at 1:04 pm:

    ARE YOU FAMILIAR WITH CHOICE CABINETS? HOW DO THEY COMPARE WITH FABUWOOD?

  100. paul mcalary, April 24, 2018 at 4:44 pm:

    I Like the Green Forest construction they don’t make 36″ high wall cabinets though and that can be an issue with many designs.

Leave a comment


*

  Reviews for Main Line Kitchen Design

66 customer reviews

Average rating:5

 
  They Deserved This...
Main Line Kitchen Design is an extremely professional...
by Maggie R on 09/24/2021
  Great Kitchen...
I used Main Line Kitchen Design for a kitchen renovation...
by Janet L on 09/04/2021
  Excellent design...
We hired Paul from MLK to design our kitchen remotely for...
by Jared L on 08/10/2021
More Verified Reviews

Wordpress Development and PA SEO by IntuitSolutions